|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Black Hole by Charles Burns

A graphic novel by Charles Burns

< read all 4 reviews

A Quick Tip by Creamtrumpet

  • Mar 22, 2012
An unsettling, allegorical tale of adolescence and mutation in the 1970s. Part coming of age drama, part Cronenbergian body horror. Burns' superb writing and bold black and white artwork make this a highly engrossing and highly impressive read. Not one for the easily shocked.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
Post a Comment
March 23, 2012
I am not easily shocked--so this is for me!!
 
1
More Black Hole (graphic novel) reviews
Quick Tip by . December 02, 2009
A graphic novel that you enjoy reading, like a novel. Stark & compelling illustrations.
review by . November 09, 2008
Black Hole by Charles Burns
Outstanding! Absolutely the best graphic horror novel ever written, and brought together in one book that I literally finished in only a few hours. Then I had to go back, and peer once again at the wonderfully twisted graphic cells.     Forget herpes and AIDS, this story is about a $exually transmitted disease that is sweeping through the teen population in Seattle WA during the 70's. Sure, it may be fatal, but when teenagers are so concerned about looks and cliques and fitting …
review by . February 12, 2008
Pros: Humor, horror, mystery, the 70s... what more could I ask for?     Cons: May be offensive to immature audiences     The Bottom Line: A great graphic novel with an interesting, thought-provoking storyline. I'm adding Charles Burns to my "To-Read" list.     I'm always trying to find new graphic novels and their authors and illustrators. Often, I pick a few by different authors, hoping to find someone who's style I'll like, then I can …
About the reviewer
Simon Lee Tranter ()
Ranked #143
Member Since: May 8, 2009
Last Login: May 15, 2014 07:58 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Creamtrumpet
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Creamtrumpet
About this book

Wiki

The prodigiously talented Burns hit the comics scene in the '80s via Raw magazine, wielding razor-sharp, ironic-retro graphics. Over the years his work has developed a horrific subtext perpetually lurking beneath the mundane suburban surface. In the dense, unnerving Black Hole, Burns combines realism—never a concern for him before—and an almost convulsive surrealism. The setting is Seattle during the early '70s. A sexually transmitted disease, the "bug," is spreading among teenagers. Those who get it develop bizarre mutations—sometimes subtle, like a tiny mouth at the base of one boy's neck, and sometimes obvious and grotesque. The most visibly deformed victims end up living as homeless campers in the woods, venturing into the streets only when they have to, shunned by normal society. The story follows two teens, Keith and Chris, as they get the bug. Their dreams and hallucinations—made of deeply disturbing symbolism merging sexuality and sickness—are a key part of the tale. The AIDS metaphor is obvious, but the bug also amplifies already existing teen emotions and the wrenching changes of puberty. Burns's art is inhumanly precise, and he makes ordinary scenes as creepy as his nightmare visions of a world where intimacy means a life worse than death.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 037542380X
ISBN-13: 978-0375423802
Author: Charles Burns
Genre: Japanese Horror, Gaphic Novel
Publisher: Pantheon (October 18, 2005)
Date Published: (October 18, 2005)
Format: Hardcover: 352 pages, Product Dimensions: 9.4 x 6.8 x 1.6 inches
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists