|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Breathers: A Zombie's Lament » User review

Breathers S.G. Brown

a zombie story by S.G. Brown

< read all 4 reviews

An Interesting Take on Zombies

  • May 22, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+2
n a slightly alternate world, starting in the 1930's, a small percentage of people who die come back as zombies. They are effectively immortal until they rot away to the point where they can no longer maintain their form. Zombies are barely tolerated by society. Although they retain the memories of their lives, they have no legal rights and are treated as stray animals if they bother living humans, or "breathers".  Andy Warner recently died in a car accident and came back as a zombie. He lives in his parent's basement and his only social contact is with the Undead Anonymous support group he attends. He and the members of the group meet some zombies who have discovered that eating human flesh allows zombies to heal and become strong, which inspires Andy to try and become more a part of the world and campaign for zombie rights.
I enjoyed the book, and it is an interesting take on zombies that differs from the standard mindless brain-eaters, but it felt a little unfocused. It starts out seeming like it will be a dark, horror comedy, like something by Christopher Moore, but as it progresses it becomes more focused on the civil rights aspects of the way zombies are treated, and the humor declines. It also becomes harder to sympathize with the characters once they start comparing recipes on the best ways to prepare the people they are killing.  Still, it is a quick, entertaining read I will be interested in seeing future books by S.G. Browne.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
July 25, 2009
I've read reviews of this on Amazon, but by and large everyone was a lot more enthusiastic about it than you are. What was the biggest downer for you? Was it that it lost its sense of humor or was it that the characters became too zombie like? There's a film called ZOMBIES ANONYMOUS which I reviewed that attempts the same thing. I've heard there's a film called VAMPIRES ANONYMOUS that does as well.
 
June 17, 2009
This book sounds fun! They just realized a book called Pride Prejudice and Zombies which also looks really interesting.  This book sounds like it could be a fun read and reminds me a little of the film Fido about domesticated Zombies.  You should check it out :)  Remember that you can share your reviews with the share box up to on websites like Twitter or Facebook :)
 
May 28, 2009
That does sound like an interesting premise. I've never read Richard Matheson's "I Am Legend" but apparently the novella had a similar misunderstood zombie thing going on. The idea of trying to understand the motivation of characters we've always seen as "evil" or "monsters" is gaining popularity. Wicked does the same thing- making a sympathetic hero out of the "Wicked Witch". I wonder if it will eventually move us toward being a more understanding society. Let's hope.
 
May 25, 2009
I reviewed a movie called ZOMBIES ANONYMOUS that had the same problem only to a greater extent. It really wanted to be a comedy, but then it fractured and went off in several different directtions. It finally got around to some good old fashioned zombie carnage near the end of the film which was enough to please a lot of fans, but the whole thing left me feeling flat.
 
1
More Breathers: A Zombie's Lament reviews
review by . July 13, 2010
This book has everything that a zombie fan usually looks for from their zombie entertainment and is stil able to bel totally original. The concept of the book itself is genious, and even a person who is not that huge of a horror or zombie fan could get into it. The social satire is great in the way that everyone can relate at one time or another feeling like an unaccepted outsider and believe it or not; the romance portion of the story is as engaging as the flesh eating and plight of Andy as he …
review by . March 21, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised as to how enjoyable this book was.  It is written in first-person by Andy who is recently reanimated, meaning he died and came back to life.  Andy is a "zombie" but not in the classic sense as he has all his mental faculties and desires to live a "normal" life of a "breather."  Andy lives in his parents basement, mostly watching tv and drinking wine and weekly going to support sessions with other zombies. We realize that zombies have been in existance a …
review by . May 26, 2009
It really isn't fair to compare this book to Max Brooks's excellent "World War Z." Where WWZ covers a fictional zombie "war," Browne's "Breathers" turns zombie fiction on its severed ear by introducing romance to the mix. Breathers is extremely humorous and touching and our hero Andy is a wonderful guide to living, or unliving, in a world where zombies and humans co-habitate uneasily.      I recommend this book to all fans of zombies, and their friends. Just don't eat the venison!
About the reviewer
Steve Dobie ()
Ranked #638
Member Since: May 13, 2009
Last Login: Oct 20, 2011 05:26 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sdobie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Meet Andy Warner, a recently deceased everyman and newly minted zombie. Abandoned by his friends and reviled by a society that no longer considers him human, Andy is having a bit of trouble adjusting. But all that changes when he goes to an Undead Anonymous meeting and meets a few kindred souls.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0767930614 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 978-0767930611 (pbk.)
Author: S.G. Brown
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Broadway
Date Published: March 3, 2009
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists