|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Bridget Jones's Diary (book) » User review

Book Cover

A book by British author Helen Fielding

< read all 24 reviews

Laugh out loud funny

  • Sep 4, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
In one of those coincidence thingies, both this book and the movie landed on my desk at the same time. Recognizing a sign when I saw one, I started with the book, seeing that it was written before the movie, and things should, after all, go in their natural order.

The first thing I had to do was go back in time a bit and try to remember my tables, when I realized that the little notations like 8st 11 were references to weight. After spending a few moments contemplating the complexity of 14 times tables, I took out my calculator to work out that Bridget weighed 129 lbs at the first chapter. This I thought was perfectly normal for a healthy young woman, and tried to remember if I had weighed that little at birth.

Fast forwarding to the summary of this outrageously funny book, I can tell you that it is about the hilarious episodes that led to Bridget Jones drinking 3,836 units of alcohol, smoking 5,277 cigarettes, eating 11,090,265 calories, gaining 72 lbs and losing 73 within a calendar year.

Laid out in the format of entries in a diary (hence the title - duh), we get the privilege of following every calamity and crisis of her romantic life (mostly pitiful), her weight swings (ongoing), her mother's midlife crisis (v.g.), her neurotic friends and their problems (numerous), her job exploits (unimpressive), her weakness for gambling on scratch cards (improvement required) and her cooking skills (non existent)

Once you pick it up you'll want to finish it in one sitting, and I was laughing out loud without even caring that people were beginning to edge away from me. (not so good). Just when you think you have the measure of the book, it picks up the pace in the last chapters, and turns into a madcap romp of pure reading pleasure.

Highly recommended for everyone except males with commitment problems, those dreadful people who can eat all they want without gaining weight, and European con men.


Amanda Richards

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Bridget Jones's Diary (book) reviews
review by . June 29, 2010
Bridget Jones's Diary is basically what it sounds like - the diary of Bridget, a 30-something Singleton on a mission of self-improvement.  While trying to quit smoking, lose weight, and develop inner poise, she runs into all kinds of problems - problems with men and dating, problems with friends and family, but mostly problems caused by her own flighty personality.      I thought Bridget Jones's Diary started off slow, focused on what she was eating, her flirtations …
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
A fun read and charming main character but so superficial that it ranks as a well crafted guilty pleasure.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
A "must" summertime time read. Thoroughly enjoyable from beginning to end.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
Ok, honesty moment, I read this because of the movie :P But as always, book beats movie! Fun and light if you want it to be, but like Man-in-the-Mirror, makes you want to look at yourself as potential to change.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
Very comical and will pick you up if you are feeling down after a few pages
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
hilarious!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
A great light and quick read. Such a funny book and very relatable!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Hilarious and fun, for a frivolous sort of book.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
It is fun. Perfect when you travel by plane or train.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Funny! Excellent for women!
About the reviewer
Amanda Richards ()
Ranked #41
I write reviews for a hobby. Most of my reviews are short and to the point, on account of my short attention span. I try to make my reviews both informative and entertaining, and sometimes I succeed. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
arichards
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Bridget Jones's Diary is a 1996 novel by Helen Fielding. It chronicles the life of Bridget Jones, a thirty-something single woman living in London. In this book she turns 33 on March 21. Surrounded by a surrogate "urban family" of friends Sharon (Shazzer), Jude, and Tom, she tries to make sense of life and love in the 1990s.

Bridget is a "Singleton" employed in the publishing industry. She struggles, often humorously and endearingly, to make sense of her romantic entanglement with her boss Daniel Cleaver, and later with the "top-notch human rights barrister" Mark Darcy. One concept introduced and often revisited in both Bridget Jones's Diary and The Edge of Reason is that of "fuckwittage": the emotional turmoil intentionally wreaked by men who fall anywhere along the spectrum of womanizers to commitment-phobics. Fuckwittage is no stranger to Bridget, Shazzer (a strident feminist), Jude (a highly successful business woman who throughout the novel is on-again-off-again with Vile Richard), and the gay Tom (who must deal with the fuckwittage present in his relationship with Pretentious Jerome).

Bridget's family consists of an overconfident mother who seems always to be finding new adventures and projects, a much more down-to-earth father (though he is sometimes driven into uncharacteristically unstable states of mind by his wife), and a brother, Jamie, a more peripheral character. Bridget often visits her parents, as well as her parents' ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists