|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Cradle to Cradle: remaking the way we make things » User review

Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things

A book about sustainability by William McDonough and Michael Braungart

< read all 4 reviews

Cradle to Cradle

  • Jun 12, 2010
Rating:
+4
Cradle to Cradle is a must read for all Americans, or anyone who consumes.  It paints a picture of our daily lives and the actual impact it has on the world around us.  Many of the specifics that the authors point out are obvious, but also the implications of our simple daily living that can lead to long-term complications. 

This book is very thought provoking in ways that don't immediately come to mind when we think about conservation, preservation and stewardship. This book transcends time, it's for us and future generations.

Authors William McDonough & Michael Braungart do an excellent job of making this book user-friendly.  Their examples begins at the start of a life-cycle and draws us into what it  "cradle to grave" truly means.  It is deep, thought provoking and will inspire you to live a new way.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
June 13, 2010
Thanks for sharing! I enjoyed this book as well and I shared my perspective in my review of Cradle to Cradle in the Green Living community. If you liked this book you would probably be interested in that community, so check it out!
 
1
More Cradle to Cradle: remaking the... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Great intro to industrial ecology and cradle-to-cradle thinking.
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Take this book along with you as you go shopping to see how wasteful we still are despite desperate efforts to "go green."
review by . March 03, 2009
posted in Green Living
Cradle to Cradle
Cradle to Cradle by William McDonough & Michael Braungart is a very thought provoking book that is great for anyone in a design profession. It will make you aware of the impact of anything you design on people and the environment, everything from cars to carpet is covered. I also recommend it to anyone interested in sustainability and 'green' issues. I read this my junior year in college and it was so interesting I actually read the book for all assignments.       The difference …
About the reviewer

Ranked #1512
Member Since: Jun 11, 2010
Last Login: Sep 22, 2010 02:23 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
hansen5340
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Cradle to Cradle is a book by William McDonough & Michael Braungart about the impact of design on the environment.

Publishers weekly summary: Environmentalists are normally the last people to be called shortsighted, yet that's essentially what architect McDonough and chemist Braungart contend in this clarion call for a new kind of ecological consciousness. The authors are partners in an industrial design firm that devises environmentally sound buildings, equipment and products. They argue that conventional, expensive eco-efficiency measures things like recycling or emissions reduction are inadequate for protecting the long-term health of the planet. Our industrial products are simply not designed with environmental safety in mind; there's no way to reclaim the natural resources they use or fully prevent ecosystem damage, and mitigating the damage is at best a stop-gap measure. What the authors propose in this clear, accessible manifesto is a new approach they've dubbed "eco-effectiveness": designing from the ground up for both eco-safety and cost efficiency. They cite examples from their own work, like rooftops covered with soil and plants that serve as natural insulation; nontoxic dyes and fabrics; their current overhaul of Ford's legendary River Rouge factory; and the book itself, which will be printed on a synthetic "paper" that doesn't use trees. Because profitability is a requirement of the designs, the thinking goes, they appeal to business ...
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0865475873 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780865475878 (pbk.)
Author: William McDonough, Michael Braungart
Genre: Environmental Non-fiction
Publisher: North Point Press
Date Published: April 22, 2002
Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists