|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Crime and Punishment (book) » User review

Crime and Punishment

A book by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

< read all 10 reviews

The Ultimate Tale of a Man who Regrets a Crime He "Got Away With"

  • Sep 30, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

I liked this slightly better than The Brothers Karamozov which is also one of the best books ever! The book is similar to Poe's, A Tell-Tale Heart in which a man commits a murder that absolutely nobody suspects. What becomes his undoing is only his guilty conscience.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Crime and Punishment (book) reviews
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2010
Russian novels have a bad rep for being long and boring. This one is neither (well it can kind of qualify for long but is never boring).
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
It's not a bad book, but I have so much trouble getting through any Russian novels.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
i can't believe I finished it!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
this is another classic that was required. death, murder...absolutely wonderful. I had my times where I felt that I just had to muddle through and then there were times when I was on the edge of my seat. Well done!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Very favorite book ever!!!! Oh the pain and murder just drives me crazy! I could read it again and again, but it was the very first time where the suspense shot me straight up out of the ceiling.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Althoug it is a russian classic the plot of this novel is so exciting that it will be topical and thrilling in all times. This book will keep your interest from the beginning till the end (of course, this is my opinion))
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
holy depression, batman! enveloping story but overwhelming at times.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
One of my schools mandatory books. Dostoyevsky really paints a picture, it really brought me in.
review by . June 21, 2009
Crime and Punishment is a very intense book but well worth the effort it takes to read it. It is the story of a bright but mentally tortured student (Rodion Romanovich Raskolnikov) whose views of human nature initially make him believe that he is justified in committing murder. He kills the pawnbroker Alena Ivanovna and her sister Lizaveta, who unexpectedly stumbles upon the scene. Raskolnikov spends a lot of time trying to analyze his motives. First he tells the character Sonia: "It was to rob …
About the reviewer

Ranked #9
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

A novel by Russian author Fyodor Dostoevsky that was first published in the literary journal The Russian Messenger in twelve monthly installments in 1866.It was later published in a single volume. It is the second of Dostoevsky's full-length novels after he returned from his exile in Siberia, and the first great novel of his mature period.

Crime and Punishment focuses on the mental anguish and moral dilemmas of Rodion Romanovich Raskolnikov, an impoverished St. Petersburg ex-student who formulates and executes a plan to kill a hated, unscrupulous pawnbroker for her money, thereby solving his financial problems and at the same time, he argues, ridding the world of an evil, worthless parasite. Raskolnikov also strives to be an extraordinary being, similar to Napoleon, believing that murder is permissible in pursuit of a higher purpose.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0679734503 (Vintage pbk. ed.)
ISBN-13: 9780679734505 (Vintage pbk. ed.)
Author: Fyodor Dostoevsky
Genre: Literature
Publisher: Vintage
Date Published: March 2, 1993
Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Collection of Classics

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists