|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

MAN WITHOUT FEAR

A graphic novel written by Frank Miller and illustrated by John Romita Jr.

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by woopak_the_thrill

  • May 13, 2011
Frank Miller's lesser known and yet so amazingly gritty re-issue of the origins of everyone's favorite hornhead; this happens before he dons the scarlet costume. It goes into the relationship between Matt and Jack Murdock, his love affair with a young woman named Elektra in college and the very first time he took matters into his own hands.

Not for kids, and more violent than your usual Daredevil issues, this goes into the darker side of Manhattan, its crime element and perhaps sets up the continuity where the Kingpin becomes obsessed with Matt Murdock.

Hey, it is illustrated by John Romita Jr. !
Highly Recommended!
Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
May 13, 2011
I never thought Miller's take on "Daredevil" was lesser known. I mean, sure it didn't get its own movie adaptation like "Sin City" or "300", but neither did "The Dark Knight Returns" or "Ronin". Miller's work on DD here as well as in "Love and War" and earlier DD issues which would be compiled into the "Born Again" story arc are probably some of the very best DD books out there.
May 13, 2011
Dude, his run in the DD series was known, but this wasn't, as a stand alone mini series and not part of the DD comic series. This mini-series was published barely before the collapse of the industry in the 90's....
May 13, 2011
Yeah, but still, every Marvel fan I know is familiar with this series even if they all haven't read it.
May 13, 2011
So did they buy the limited series or did they buy the trade paperback? It wasn't popular when it first came out given the chaos in the industry during that time.It was also mildly ignored because of the emergence of Image.
May 13, 2011
Two bought the graphic novel edition, one the original comics when they came out, and the other bought both (but he has connections).
May 13, 2011
Also, a lot of Marvel fans always mistake this for something else since Miller does have a similar arc in Daredevil. Some even thought it was a reprint. When I was collecting this, I was the one of the 5 who looked for it in the comic store I frequented; everyone was so into the "Broken Bat" stories and death of Supes....I would still argue it became well-known after the series was over.
 
May 13, 2011
Nice QT, I actually own issue number 2 of this series. Sadly I could not find number 1 no matter how hard I tried but I'm still looking.
May 13, 2011
Thanks, Lopez! Issue one is a little rare, but the tradepaperback is fairly easy to find these days. Have you also read Daredevil Yellow? It was pretty fun I think.
May 13, 2011
I'm sorry to say that I haven't read Daredevil Yellow, in fact I have never even heard of Daredevil Yellow. Plus I don't read comic books or graphic novels very much I never really have. The only graphic novel I have ever read was Allan Moore's "The Watchmen".
May 13, 2011
Watchmen is awesome! I think you'll Daredevil Yellow...it was his early days when he wore his dad's yellow wrestling gear to fight crime.
May 14, 2011
I'll give it a look thanks for the heads up. And I agree Watchmen is one of the greatest graphic novels of all time and the reason comics and graphic novels are not just for children but also for adults. I also have become interested in reading "V For Vendetta" after I saw the big screen adaptation.
 
1
More Daredevil: The Man Without Fea... reviews
review by . March 29, 2010
Frank Miller's Strong Noirish, Mature Portrayal of Marvel's Sightless, Red-Garbed Vigilante
   Most people are familiar with the name Frank Miller. A vast majority would recognize his name with the movie/graphic novel “Sin City”, some would see him as the writer of the graphic novel “300” and most recently he has made his less than impressive directorial debut with “The Spirit”. His recent success with the comic book mini-series “All Star Batman and Robin” have once again caused him to be noticed by comic fandom. Miller’s …
review by . June 22, 2005
This volume is nothing more or less than a master at work on the character that he made famous. Frank Miller is known these days more for his work on Sin City, but once he revolutionized Matt Murdock, making him not only a relevant comic character again, but a fan favorite. Man Without Fear has Miller returning to Matt Murdock with a bone crushing, teeth gnashing, hard hitting origin story, detailing Matt's journey from childhood, to his first adventure as a masked crime fighter.     Of …
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

(excerpt from Wikipedia's Daredevil page)
Frank Miller returned to the character and his origins with the 1993 five issue Daredevil: The Man Without Fear mini-series. With artist John Romita Jr, Miller expanded upon the character's beginnings and provided additional detail about the life and death of "Battling Jack" Murdock and Matt's first encounters with the Kingpin and Foggy Nelson. The role of Stick in the genesis of Daredevil was expanded, as was Murdock's doomed love affair with Elektra Natchios, the daughter of a Greek diplomat.

A fire burns deep within Matt Murdock. He was raised by a single father, an over-the-hill prizefighter with one last chance to make it good - a chance that cost him his life! Taunted and tormented by children while growing up, Matt's life was irrevocably altered after he was blinded by radioactive materials while saving the life of an old man. The payoff? An unbreakable will and a keen intelligence, helping focus the super-senses he was blessed with during the accident. His story is one of love, pain, disappointment, and strength. Witness the tour-de-force origin of the Man Without Fear by industry legends Frank Miller and John Romita Jr. Collects Daredevil: The Man Without Fear #1-5.--This text refers to theHardcoveredition.
view wiki

Details

Author: Frank Miller
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels, Crime Drama, Superheroes
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Date Published: 1993
Format: Graphic Novel
Polls with this book
A History of Violence

Pick Your Favorite Graphic Novels!

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists