|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Digital Fortress » User review

Not bad, but obviously one of his earlier books

  • Jun 16, 2004
  • by
Rating:
+3
Ok- first off... I really did enjoy this book. However, now that I have all 4 of Brown's novels, I have noticed a certain formula that Dan Brown uses.

1- Use the word "Incredulous" as often as possible (although he kept the word to a minimum in "Digital Fortress" less than 10 occurrences).
2- The bad guy MUST be known by a term/phrase instead of a name (here he is known as "North Dakota").
3- The bad guy is double crossing the good guys... and you are NOT supposed to suspect this.

4- The novel must take place in the course of one day.
5- Your hero must wake-up and not have a clue that he will spend his entire day many miles away from home, while being chased by bad guys.
6- All good guys must be experts at something very arcane.
7- The ending must be weak.

If you follow these steps you too can write a Dan Brown novel. ORRRR you can use this formula to figure out the book you are currently reading after about 100 pages.

Of course, tweaks the formula for each of his books. However, "Digital Fortress" is clearly the little brother of all Brown's books. The plot is interesting and while the it certainly is a "Page Turner" you notice pretty quickly that everything doesn't quite add up. Like when the deaf guy notices all of the people entering the street because he HEARS a bell being rung.

As others have pointed out, Brown has taken quite a few liberties with computer programming. Even though it took me two tries to get through FORTRAN, I had very little trouble figuring out a few of the mistakes.

For the most part I enjoyed the novel. Since I know the Brown "Formula" it didn't take me very long to predict EXACTLY what would happen... but hey, sometimes a little predictability is ok!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Digital Fortress reviews
Quick Tip by . August 23, 2010
This is my favorite book by Dan Brown, even though it is a bit simpler than some of the others. It is definitely a good "starter" book into the writings of Dan Brown. I would absolutely recommend this novel.
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
A thriller. Moves with movie-like pacing. Not a lot of deeper things from the characters, but an interesting chunk of the world of security and cryptography.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Dan Brown books are satirical, easy to read, and worth the time as far as popular books go. This is a suspense thriller and government control of the internet, in terms of privacy of the end user. He questions the extent to which security concerns face off with the privacy of computer users and goverment ability to monitor anyone person usage of it.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
Just like "deception point", this will definitely catch your thoughts.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Excellent book for begginers. When you don`t like to read and want to read some action that have nothing to add to your life, read this book.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
a little slower than his other ones, but still a pretty good read.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Excellent book, I would really recommend reading this.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Least favorite Dan Brown novel, but still awesome.
review by . May 06, 2009
This is the third Brown book I have read (Deception Point & Da Vinci Code are the prior books). Brown has an uncanny ability in all his books to bring the reader in at the beginning and put you on a roller coaster ride that you can't get off. This book is no exception. Brown seems to like codes and puzzles, which permeate all his books. In this one, a programmer appears to write a cryptographic algorithm that even the NSA's most powerful computer cannot crack. This most powerful computer, TRANSLTR, …
review by . March 07, 2009
My first encounter with Dan Brown came with the infamous "Da Vinci Code" which is apparently one of the biggest selling books in history. I read it and I loved it; I didn't see the criticisms that I had heard about Dan's writing and in fact defended it at every opportunity. I was blinded. Blinded by the hype and the sheer ferocity of the media spotlight, I adored this book before even reading it. Now, two years later and I decided to give one of Dan Browns other books a go thinking it would be equally …
About the reviewer

Ranked #222
At one time, I may have been the world's biggest baseball fan. However, now that I have a family I amin danger of falling out of the top 100. In addition to my beautiful wife and lovely daughter (and … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KevinE
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

In most thrillers, "hardware" consists of big guns, airplanes, military vehicles, and weapons that make things explode. Dan Brown has written a thriller for those of us who like our hardware with disc drives and who rate our heroes by big brainpower rather than big firepower. It's an Internet user's spy novel where the good guys and bad guys struggle over secrets somewhat more intellectual than just where the secret formula is hidden--they have to gain understanding of what the secret formula actually is.

In this case, the secret formula is a new means of encryption, capable of changing the balance of international power. Part of the fun is that the book takes the reader along into an understanding of encryption technologies. You'll find yourself better understanding the political battles over such real-life technologies as the Clipper Chip and PGP (Pretty Good Privacy) software even though the book looks at the issues through the eyes of fiction.

Although there's enough globehopping in this book for James Bond, the real battleground is cyberspace, because that's where the "bomb" (or rather, the new encryption algorithm) will explode. Yes, there are a few flaws in the plot if you look too closely, but the cleverness and the sheer fun of it all more than make up for them. There are enough twists and turns to keep you guessing and a lot of high, gee-whiz-level information about encryption, code breaking, and the role they play in ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0552151696
ISBN-13: 978-0552151696
Author: Dan Brown
Genre: Science Fiction, Techno-Thriller, Mystery & Thrillers
Publisher: St. Martins Press
Date Published: 1998
Format: Paperback
Polls with this book
Angels & Demons

Best Dan Brown Novels

by

Angels & Demons

Dan Brown Mysteries

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists