|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation » User review

A panda walks into a bar.....

  • Jun 20, 2010
Rating:
+5
I have never mastered punctuation. I have found it mind numbingly dull. With that said, I simply laughed out loud at this cranky little book. Truss even made me aware of what I was laughing at, which menas I learned a little, as well. I feel this book jumps out of the starting gate with a bang and took the lead as a "laugh-out-loud" candidate. I couldn't put it down but by the middle, it began running out of steam and frankly, I got a bit weary with it. I mean, how much more interest can I muster up about an apostrophe or a semi colon? Using Truss' word, perhaps I'm a thicko.

In the authors defense though, she had me mesmerized and laughing for hours.  I would recommend this book especially for any punctuation/grammar snob. I guarantee you'll enjoy a belly-laugh at those of us less inclined to be perfect and find an understanding friend.  I am keeping it on my bookshelf to re-read at a later day. It is very well written and I adore her snarky wit. She is flat-out hilarious and a brilliant snob.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zer... reviews
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Any book that can make grammar fun... wait, I think this is the only book. So cool. Really enjoyed this one.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
A delight for a pedant old grammarian like myself. Lazy language -- born in America, migrating to every point on the globe -- needs to be eschewed wherever possible. Truss' observations are witty, delightful, and dead accurate. If you like speaking and writing "American," don't read this book. (LOL)
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
An entertaining and educational read!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Definitely funny for anyone who has studied or struggled with English.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
A wonderful, humorous little book - also extremely useful.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Fantastic book for those, like myself, with a comma dragon to conquer.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Love English, this book cracks me up.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Learned about this one from Levenger. Laughed like a maniac!
Quick Tip by . May 19, 2010
Fun & painless learning (and explained the Lands' End logo).
review by . January 23, 2010
Lynn Truss, a proud, self-proclaimed snobbish pedant, makes no bones about the fact that her short book, "Eats, Shoots and Leaves" is really an extended essay on pedantry - a style book, a prescriptive grammar, a manifesto, a rant and, perhaps saddest of all, a eulogy - bemoaning the demise of the correct use of punctuation in the written English word today.       As a reader, writer and speaker who, frankly, takes pride in an extensive vocabulary and takes pains to …
About the reviewer
Karin Tobiason ()
Ranked #1739
   Avid reader, writer, crowd control and overall snake charmer
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TobiWan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Who would have thought a book about punctuation could cause such a sensation? Certainly not its modest if indignant author, who began her surprise hit motivated by "horror" and "despair" at the current state of British usage: ungrammatical signs ("BOB,S PETS"), headlines ("DEAD SONS PHOTOS MAY BE RELEASED") and band names ("Hear'Say") drove journalist and novelist Truss absolutely batty. But this spirited and wittily instructional little volume, which was a U.K. #1 bestseller, is not a grammar book, Truss insists; like a self-help volume, it "gives you permission to love punctuation." Her approach falls between the descriptive and prescriptive schools of grammar study, but is closer, perhaps, to the latter. (A self-professed "stickler," Truss recommends that anyone putting an apostrophe in a possessive "its"-as in "the dog chewed it's bone"-should be struck by lightning and chopped to bits.) Employing a chatty tone that ranges from pleasant rant to gentle lecture to bemused dismay, Truss dissects common errors that grammar mavens have long deplored (often, as she readily points out, in isolation) and makes elegant arguments for increased attention to punctuation correctness: "without it there is no reliable way of communicating meaning." Interspersing her lessons with bits of history (the apostrophe dates from the 16th century; the first semicolon appeared in 1494) and ...
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1592400876
ISBN-13: 978-1592400874
Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher: Gotham

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists