|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by soulebird

  • Jun 20, 2010
I was introduced to Edgar Allan Poe at a very young age. The way the man paints a picture that portrays such emotions within is beyond me. His working is so dark yet rich and brilliant. As a child, I always wondered where such darkness lurked that contributed to his work. It's like he was painting his shadow and while painting his shadow he was tuning into our psyches. His work is timeless.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Edgar Allan Poe's Annotated Sh... reviews
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
I like and at the same I don't like Poe's stories. It is very dark, misterious, goes deep in a nightmare fantasy. It's an emotional disturbing.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
There are few people who can say they began something that was truly new. Along with Nathaniel Hawthorne, Poe created the short story form. They were both also instrumental in both the creation of horror, suspense and detective genres.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
classic!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
i havent read ALL of poes work. not sure that anyone really has. there are deffinately ones that have never been discovered or anything. but how could anyone not like classics like the raven and tell tale heart? he had a dark yet exciting way of writing that just pulled you in. no matter if it was a poem or short story that didnt ryhme at all. it was still catchy. my favorite from him is by far "alone". the complete loneliness he describes is deffinately an eye opener.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
I have always been a big fan of Edgar Allen Poe. He was a disturbed mind that produced fear inducing, nail biting, suspenseful, horror stories. True psychological horror stories.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Sometime all you really want to read or have time for is the short story.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Poe's stories are eerie and deep. He's one of my favorite authors.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Always idle for soft horror.
Quick Tip by . June 09, 2010
Edgar Allan Poe was a wonderful writer. I really enjoyed this book. The short stories are obviously well written and even if you don't have much time to read, this book is easy to get through. Take it on the bus or train and enjoy reading on your way to and from work.
review by . September 04, 2009
Edgar Allan Poe is one of America’s most famous, and most misunderstood, men of letters. As this book shows, he was much more than just a horror writer. He made his living, such as it was, with his pen, so he did all sorts of writing. He wrote satire, comedy, poetry, adventure and gothic stories. He was also one of the originators of the mystery genre, along with being an inspiration for Arthur Conan Doyle. Poe was also known as a literary critic; others may have disagreed with him, but they …
About the reviewer
Steffany ()
Ranked #709
   Why, hello there! Thanks for visiting. Where to begin? I'm a freelance writer for the Examiner. I'm a vegetarian and an advocate. I use my column at the Examiner as a platform. I'm … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
soulebird
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1933747188
ISBN-13: 9781933747187
Author: Andrew Barger
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Bottle Tree Books
Date Published: 2008
Format: hardcover
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists