|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Ella Enchanted » User review

Ella Enchanted

a book written by Gail Carson Levine, published in 1997

< read all 20 reviews

I love Ella Enchanted even as an adult

  • Jun 22, 2010
Rating:
+5

Ella Enchanted is a clever twist on the classic fairy tale.  It is written from the perspective of Ella, a teenage girl who is forced into obedience by a spell cast upon her at birth.  By the time Ella is fifteen, the spell has made her stubborn and rebellious.  About this time, she loses her mother, and rarely sees her father.  Her closest companion is the cook, Mandy, who is later revealed to be Ella's fairy godmother.  Ella's adventures take her across the land as she tries to find the fairy who cast the spell on her.  She meets gnomes, ogres, giants, and the young Prince Charmont, who is captivated by her wit and fiery personality. 

Ella Enchanted is engaging and personal.  Clever references to classic fairy tales bring additional wit.  The characters are believable and the plot ties each personality together nicely.  Although I adored this book as a teenage girl, I still enjoy it now.  Gail Carson Levine has created a timeless fairy tale for all ages.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
June 23, 2010
I tried reading this book when I was in elementary school and I remember hating it. I have a feeling looking back now though that I was probably a little bit young for the reading level. Your review made me want to go to the library and check out the book and give it another try! Thanks!
 
1
More Ella Enchanted reviews
review by . June 23, 2010
I read this book as a young adult and remember going back to it numerous times for a reread. From the moment I started reading it, it held my interest. It was also quite a popular choice amongst my group of friends.      It's a fun redux on a classic (Cinderella), but has great twists and a truly lovable protagonist amongst a fascinating cast of characters. As a non-romantic young person, I remember feeling like I could really identify with the main characters and, although …
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
A charming fantasy adventure for strong young girls in both written and film forms. A simple read, I actually prefer the film primarily because it has a wider appeal for audiences of all ages.
review by . June 14, 2010
This was one of my favorite books as a young teenager. The heroine is smart, strong-willed and easy to relate to and the adventure is great fun. Ella is cursed at birth with perfect obedience and must follow the commands of others. After the death of her mother, Ella is deprived of her primary protector. Eventually, she determines to take her fate into her own hands and seek out a way to end the curse.      This novel is based on Cinderella, but is, in my opinion, a vast improvement …
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
one of my favorite grade school books....i didn't even know it was ever made into a movie.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
This is a wonderful story to show girls and boys a like that no matter what you can over come it. Also that life is what you make of it.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
This is a kid's book, and it's a super fast and easy read. But I love it even now. It just pulls me right in and is so much fun.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Ella was one of my favorite female protagonists as a girl. A really enjoyable read.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
hahaha, back in the day
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
good vs evil - cinderella all dressed up -- good fun easy read
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
A great story and an interesting concept.
About the reviewer
Heather ()
Ranked #1012
I'm an avid lover of dancing, cooking, reading, bubble baths, and good conversation.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
curiousheather
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book
Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists