|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Ella Enchanted » User review

Ella Enchanted

a book written by Gail Carson Levine, published in 1997

< read all 20 reviews

Great Young Adult Read!

  • Jun 23, 2010
Rating:
+2

I read this book as a young adult and remember going back to it numerous times for a reread. From the moment I started reading it, it held my interest. It was also quite a popular choice amongst my group of friends.

It's a fun redux on a classic (Cinderella), but has great twists and a truly lovable protagonist amongst a fascinating cast of characters. As a non-romantic young person, I remember feeling like I could really identify with the main characters and, although the story was clearly fanstasy, that it was a fanstasy I could get on board with.

I would recommend this book for young girls who have a vivid imagination and love to lose themselves in books. It's also ideal for those who don't read much because it's a quick and easy read. The protagonist is a strong female character who stands up for what she believes in and deals with a great deal of adversity in her young life. The lessons/motifs definitely translate to modern day life.

Levine manages to craft a vivid picture of life a long time ago and yet translate the themes of love and struggle into the modern time. It's a story that will captivate children and adults alike and quickly becomes a bookshelf favorite.

If you've seen the movie, but haven't read the book, you might be confused -- the two are not at all alike. Please don't be dissuaded by the movie, the books is heads and tails better!!




 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
June 27, 2010
Great review, Meghan! Thanks for the recommendation :)
 
1
More Ella Enchanted reviews
review by . June 22, 2010
Ella Enchanted is a clever twist on the classic fairy tale.  It is written from the perspective of Ella, a teenage girl who is forced into obedience by a spell cast upon her at birth.  By the time Ella is fifteen, the spell has made her stubborn and rebellious.  About this time, she loses her mother, and rarely sees her father.  Her closest companion is the cook, Mandy, who is later revealed to be Ella's fairy godmother.  Ella's adventures take her across the land …
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
A charming fantasy adventure for strong young girls in both written and film forms. A simple read, I actually prefer the film primarily because it has a wider appeal for audiences of all ages.
review by . June 14, 2010
This was one of my favorite books as a young teenager. The heroine is smart, strong-willed and easy to relate to and the adventure is great fun. Ella is cursed at birth with perfect obedience and must follow the commands of others. After the death of her mother, Ella is deprived of her primary protector. Eventually, she determines to take her fate into her own hands and seek out a way to end the curse.      This novel is based on Cinderella, but is, in my opinion, a vast improvement …
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
one of my favorite grade school books....i didn't even know it was ever made into a movie.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
This is a wonderful story to show girls and boys a like that no matter what you can over come it. Also that life is what you make of it.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
This is a kid's book, and it's a super fast and easy read. But I love it even now. It just pulls me right in and is so much fun.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Ella was one of my favorite female protagonists as a girl. A really enjoyable read.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
hahaha, back in the day
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
good vs evil - cinderella all dressed up -- good fun easy read
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
A great story and an interesting concept.
About the reviewer
Meghan ()
Ranked #678
An avid reader who loves life.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MeggiePie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by MeggiePie
About this book
Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists