|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Barnes and Noble books

A book by Jane Austen

< read all 20 reviews

A Quick Tip by aztec13

  • Jun 15, 2010
I don't like this one quite as much as Pride and Prejudice or Sense and Sensibility, though it is still an excellent book and a wonderful summary of country life.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Emma (book) reviews
review by . June 14, 2010
   Emma Woodhouse is rare in the Austen canon in that she is financially well-off. Arguably, the novel recounts the emotional and intellectual journey of the protagonist - and perhaps the reader - wherein she discovers the greater importance of inherent personal value (intelligence, taste, generosity, kindness) as compared to external features such as wealth or charm. Adapted in 1995 into the movie Clueless, Emma, like all of Austen's work, remains startlingly relevant to modern audiences. …
review by . June 22, 2010
Your perspective of this classic story, which has been remade as the contemporary movie Clueless, will evolve as you gain life experience.       Emma is an 18 year old who believes she understands everyone's feelings and motives; she has no compunctions about matchmaking and arranging others' lives with amusing results. 
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
Though the character Emma isn't someone I'd necessarily want to be friends with, I did enjoy reading about her. And Austen is just great in general.
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
You both love and want to punish Emma for all of her matchmaking indescrepancies. The characters in this Austen novel are perhaps the quirkiest in her repetoir.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Emma is a classic that still never ceases to entertain and amaze me.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
My favorite Jane Austen
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Being a man can't quite get into the Austen novels.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
who doesn't love Jane Austen -- Emma is 18 and thinks she knows everything -- wellll you read and see what you thing -- great classic!!
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
One of my favorite books
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
This book is wonderful! A sweet girl, Emma, with her sly ways of being a matchmaker. Then when it's her who is in love, we are completely surprised and the characters love stories intertwine.
About the reviewer
Anna ()
Ranked #645
Member Since: Jun 15, 2010
Last Login: Jun 17, 2010 09:53 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
aztec13
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Characters:

Emma Woodhouse

Mr. George Knightley
Mr Frank Churchill
Jane Fairfax
Harriet Smith
Philip Elton
Augusta Elton
Mrs Weston
Mr Weston
Miss Bates
Henry Woodhouse
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0375757422 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780375757426 (pbk.)
Publisher: Modern Library
Date Published: May 8, 2001

Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

1984 (British first edition)

Collection of Classics

by

Barnes and Noble books

Jane Austen Novels

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists