|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Young Adult Fiction » Reviews » Evernight (Evernight, Book 1) » User review

Evernight

A vampire novel by Claudia Gray

< read all 12 reviews

What a surprise!

  • Sep 19, 2010
Rating:
+4
PJV's Quickie POV:  I enjoyed this book tremendously, and had planned on sucking down the sequel quickly, but with an out of control TBR it took me awhile. I was truly taken surprise by this book - which I love. I'm not the kind of person that likes to read the end before the beginning - or find out spoilers before I begin. A book that surprises me is a true treasure.

Review: Under duress, Bianca is forced to attend a creepy and snobbish school called Evernight Academy.  Bianca's parents are teachers at the school and they are hoping the school will help Bianca with her incompetent social skills.

Bianca really doesn't fit in though, and her parents aren't exactly happy that Bianca falls in with the least likely of candidates a very angry and controlling gent by the name of Lucas. Lucas is an enigma to Bianca and she knows that hooking up with him might lead to even more shunning from the other students. While this is going on there is also a lot of hinting to the fact that something odd is afoot at Evernight Academy.

A true Romeo & Juliet retelling, Evernight was highly enjoyable and I felt myself wanting more the moment the last page was turned. There were a few problems with the novel, but nothing that drove me crazy.  A lot of critics haven't liked the "reveal" but I enjoyed it and thought it was a good way to turn things on end instead of the usual "Girl Meets Vamp" YA happiness.  Check this book, it is worth the read, especially since Hourglass is about to be released, you won't have long to wait.

Recommendations: Fans of Meyer's Twilight series, Mead's Vampire Academy  and the Cast's House of Night series. Both adults and teens, parents, nothing to be worried about but a few kisses.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Evernight (Evernight, Book 1) reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
so i'd never heard of this book or the author (not saying that's a bad thing) before i saw it on the shelf at target. The whole reason i even picked it up in the first place was that  the font on the cover art caught my attention, its so pretty lol. One of the things i loved about this book was that even if you read the back cover its not advertised as a vampire novel, they go more for the love story angle. So as your working your way through the first few chapter the story is of a …
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
ok i bought this book just because i liked the font on the cover, and it turned out to be one of my favorite vampire books. its a great forbidden love story and well worth the read
review by . March 01, 2010
Quickie POV: Read this right before I started reviewing. Picked it up after I had tore through the Twilights. I just got to the second in the series, so I thought I would revisit Evernight with a quickie review. I enjoyed this book tremendously, and had planned on sucking down the sequel quickly, but with an out of control TBR it took me awhile.    Review: Under duress, Bianca is forced to attend a creepy and snobbish school called Evernight Academy. Bianca's parents are teachers …
review by . November 12, 2009
Evernight is a book that when I first saw the cover of it I ran away. It was such an obnoxious shade of reddish pink that my brain refused to let me even consider reading the blurb. When the second book, Stargazer, came out (in a lovely purple color) I picked it up and read through it (spoiling myself for the first book) and resolved to pick up Evernight. Except my brain kept rebelling. Luckily my friend thought I would like it and sent me a copy of both books to read (sans the DJ's), otherwise …
review by . June 18, 2009
Bianca didn't want to come to Evernight Academy. She knows she won't fit in amongst its beautiful, confident, and moneyed students, but it's more than that. There's something almost sinister about the gothic academy, something few others will even acknowledge. Then Bianca meets Lucas, a mysterious outcast, and he seems to share her wary attitude toward Evernight. In fact, he shares a lot more with her, including a fierce mutual attraction. But their blossoming romance seems to be doomed by the secrets …
review by . May 02, 2009
If you thought that Edward Cullen and Isabella Swan had a complicated relationship, then you haven't met Bianca Olivier and Lucas Ross! The only thing Edward and Bella really had to contend with was each other (not forgetting the occasional psychotic Vampire out to kill them). Bianca and Lucas have so much more to worry about!    When Bianca's parents land teaching jobs at the prestigious Evernight Academy, they uproot their only child from her peaceful small town life and …
review by . May 25, 2009
Evernight Academy is nothing like Bianca has ever known, and she hates it. The other students are rich and worldly, and look down on her. Her parents, new teachers at Evernight, keep insisting that she'll fit right in after a couple of weeks--Bianca doesn't see that happening anytime soon. But the only thing that makes things slightly bearable at Evernight for Bianca is Lucas. They're inexplicable connection intrigues them both, but both have dark secrets, and Evernight Academy will bring them to …
review by . August 10, 2008
Sixteen year old Bianca is understandably upset when her parents decide to take teaching positions at Evernight Academy since this means she'll be leaving her friends and old school behind as well. To make matters worse, she immediately doesn't feel as though she fits in; almost everyone else is rich, snobby, and beautiful. So when Bianca meets Lucas, who though good looking is seemingly normal, she's instantly smitten with him. But does he feel the same? And what will he do if he learns her secret?  &nbs …
review by . August 09, 2008
Ever since I saw this novel in the bookstore where it was a "favorite," and the comment was that "if you loved Twilight, you'll love Evernight," I was intrigued. When it became a Vine selection it seemed the perfect time to read it. I have to say....being a huge fan of the Twilight series myself, there is absolutely NO comparison between the writing style and/or quality between the books/authors. Where Twilight for me was a struggle to put down, this book was a struggle to get through; not because …
review by . June 27, 2008
Well I was very excited when I got my copy of Evernight. I heard and read a lot of good things about it. The first 145 pages or so of the book were kind of boring. We really didn't know what Bianca was until around page 146 but that's when the book got really interesting.Afterwards the book was really good. It's so much better than some vampire books I've read. It has romance, twists, vampires, ancient battles, and so much more.The characters were well developed and the plot towards the middle was …
About the reviewer
Rachel ()
Ranked #420
Book reviewer, reader, artist and overall paranormal junkee. Also known as Parajunkee and owner of parajunkee.com     
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Parajunkee
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Grade 8 Up—Bianca has been uprooted from her happy, uneventful life to start anew at an elite boarding school where her parents will now be professors. Even though Bianca doesn't feel that she is the Evernight type—rich, beautiful, or gifted—she knows that her parents feel this is best for her. She and Lucas Ross share a special connection from the moment they meet and he, like Bianca and a few others, is an outsider. He is a rebel who is on a mission to discover the secret behind Evernight Academy. As the weeks progress, their relationship heats up. What they don't realize, however, is that they each harbor a great secret that could divide them forever. Can their love survive the truth? Gray's writing hooks readers from the first page and reels them in with surprising plot twists and turns, and the open ending will keep them guessing and waiting on the edge of their seats for the next book in the series. A must-have for fans of vampire stories by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes, Stephenie Meyer, and the like.—Donna Rosenblum, Floral Park Memorial High School, NY
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0061284440
ISBN-13: 9780061284441
Author: Claudia Gray
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: HarperTeen
First to Review

"Fantastic Debut"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists