|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Falling Up (book)

A book by Shel Silverstein.

< read all 9 reviews

A Quick Tip by JulieBMack

  • Jul 6, 2010
another great Silverstein book!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Falling Up (book) reviews
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
yet another shel silverstein book i grew up with. his poems and little stories bring back a lot of memories every time i read or hear them.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
Fun lighthearted perspective, not much story lines due to format but sometimes that's what we, particularly as kids, need.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
Love all these books and this is no exception. Great lessons and poems.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Why isn't more poetry recognized as great?
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
a book of poems that i got from my mom and handed down to my niece and we all loved it!
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
This is an awesome book by Shel Silverstein. One of the best to get kids especially boys interested in poetry.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
amazing
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
For us silly-minded people, this book is fun trup down memory lane to a time that was much simpler and more endearing than today's modern mess of anger and meaness.
About the reviewer
Julie McElroy ()
Ranked #673
I am a freelance and blog writer looking for ways to discover and spread inspiration. I maintain a blog called Inspired to Write which focuses on the writing journey and finding inspiration along the … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
JulieBMack
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


From Publishers Weekly All the things that children loved about A Light in the Attic and Where the Sidewalk Ends can be found in abundance in this eclectic volume, Silverstein's first book of poetry in 20 years. By turns cheeky and clever and often darkly subversive, the poems are vintage Silverstein, presented in a black-and-white format that duplicates his earlier books. Like Roald Dahl, Silverstein's cartoons and poems are humorously seditious, often giving voice to a child's desire to be empowered or to retaliate for perceived injustice: one child character wields a "Remote-a-Dad" that will instantly control his father, and another dreams of his teachers becoming his students so that when they talk or laugh in class, he can "pinch 'em 'til they [cry]." The poems focus on the unexpected-a piglet receives a "people-back ride" and Medusa's snake-hair argues about whether to be coifed in cornrows or bangs. Sometimes the art traffics in gross-out, as when William Tell gets an arrow through his forehead or a cartoon character sticks carrots in his sockets because he's heard that carrots are good for his eyes. Although some parents and teachers may cringe at such touches, Silverstein's anti-establishment humor percolates as he lampoons conventions (the stork not only brings babies but "comes and gets the older folks/ When it's their time to go"), or discards decorum (a small gardener zips up his pants ...
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0060248025
ISBN-13: 978-0060248024
Author: Shel Silverstein
Genre: Children's Books
Publisher: HarperCollin
Date Published: April 25, 1996
Format: Book
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists