|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Fast Food Nation (book) » User review

Not for the faint of heart!

  • Aug 14, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
    This book will change the way you perceive the fast food industry. Schlosser holds nothing back. Everything you don't want to hear about the industry, he puts in the most eye opening manner. One of the things I really liked about this book was that Schlosser got all the information firsthand. He personally visited the different elements that make up this business and got the facts from the heads and other people involved. What I did not enjoy was hearing about the different types of injuries that occurred in meatpacking. He can be very graphic so beware!
    So if you prefer to not know all the sordid details of the food you eat everyday, don't read this book. It will make you squirm like no other. But if you want to a fascinating insight as to what is truly going on, this is for you.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
May 14, 2009
Have you seen SUPER SIZE ME? In this one they put a french fry in a jar to see if it will ever decompose and it doesn't. I could have told them that from having discovered them under my own car seat while looking for a pen.
 
May 03, 2009
Any book that approves of In-n-Out Burger is tops in my book. I'm currently reading Michael Pollan's "In Defense of Food." This one comes next!
 
1
More Fast Food Nation (book) reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
A good read and start into questioning the food systems in America
I read this book a few years back when I first getting into reading books about food, our environment, and our economy in general.  The title seemed interesting to me and is very fitting.      This book opened my eyes to a system I had been partaking in my whole life.  The fast food industry.  The Mcdonald's hamburger, The Burger King Whopper, and the Taco Bell taco.      I remember eating at fast food places all the time when I was a kid.  …
Quick Tip by . August 12, 2010
An excellent informative read for those who like to know how what they are consuming in the massive fast food industry.
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
This is an incredibly educational book. However, it makes you never want to eat in a fast food place ever again...
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
this book will have you blowing by evey drive thru in town. its an perfectly disgusting look into the world of fast food. i read it as a school assignment but would recommend it to anyone with a strong stomach.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
This book really gives you some insight as to where we are as a nation.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
This was required reading while I was in college, but it changed my life. For the last six years I have been vegan because of it.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
An eye-opener once one is ready to change their lifestyle! But be prepared for that first, you may not want to go back...
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
Good information, but kinda stale anti-fast food rhetoric. McDonald's is horrible for you. Duh.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
great book! explains clearly why so many people are obese in this country. lots of supporting evidence and references
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Would almost make one a vegan if beef did not taste so good. The book explains a lot about several Northern Colorado communities
About the reviewer
Sandra D. ()
Ranked #984
Member Since: Aug 14, 2008
Last Login: Aug 26, 2009 06:10 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sandra163
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Fast Food Nation is a book about the effect of the fast food industry on the United States and the world. Eric Schlosser examines fast food giants like McDonald's, Burger King and Carl's Jr. in regards to brand loyalty, the meat packing industry and slaughterhouses, obesity, obsession with fast food and why the fast food industry has been so successful in serving this type of food and paying low wages to employees from every part of the production line involved in the final product.
view wiki

Details

Author: Eric Schlosser
Genre: Non-Fiction, Company Profiles, Hospitality, Travel & Tourism, Professional, Culture, Family Health
Format: Paperback

Polls with this book
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists