|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas: A Savage Journey To The Heart Of The American Dream » User review

A book with the top down.

  • Jul 12, 2010
Rating:
+5

I laugh every time I read this book, and I have probably read it about 20 times. The scene that gets me isn't in the film, so you won't remember it from the film. Duke, having nearly escaped Las Vegas, is called back into town and is given his second rental car, the Great White Whale. He convinces the boy at the service station to fill up the tires with air to the point of danger and drives around, enjoying his newly enhanced handling, feeling every pebble on the road, but turning on a dime. No, I suppose this scene doesn't have much to do with the "narrative" of the book, but the narrative of this book isn't really all that important. Thompson moves from expounding on the times and the change he is so dreading, to action scenes that make you feel as if you have done just as much drugs as the character.


This book reads like non-fiction, and that isn't surprising, as Thompson's writing is HIGHLY autobiographical, and this book is based, to differing levels of veracity, on a real trip to Las Vegas the writer took. It is the ultimate road novel, and I often read this while on vacation. Perhaps I hope that it will make my own trip more interesting. 

While it is definitely a travel narrative, it should also be looked at as cultural criticism of the dying times and lives of the sixties and the impending doom as that wave crashed and Nixon dominated the zeitgeist. 

Anyone who likes Hunter S. Thompson has probably read this (and will again), but if you've never tried out the author, start with this. Or maybe even an edition of the book, like mine, that includes The Kentucky Derby is Decadent and Depraved and read that first. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
July 19, 2010
Nice review, Josh. I've never been interested in this book or the film, but maybe someday I will have to check it out.
 
July 19, 2010
Great review, Josh! I started reading this book a while back. Looks like I should pick it up again and finish it. Thanks for sharing!
 
1
More Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas... reviews
review by . September 26, 2010
Hunter S. Thompson was a much celebrated American journalist and writer, and "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" is his most famous book. Written in a style of "gonzo journalism," this seminal book aimed to capture as much as possible the wild and reckless drug-induced adventures of Thompson and his lawyer friend over the course of two journalistic assignments in Las Vegas in the early 70s. The actual protagonists of "Fear and Loathing" were actually slightly altered from …
review by . July 01, 2010
I do not even know where to start.  I guess you can start at the beginning with...THE BATS!      This is a very good fictional representation of the early 70's drug scene.  The tale follows a writer and his attorney as they go to Vegas so that the writer can cover a race.  Very actual work is done, unless you call being a social deviant work.  As the story goes on, so does the rampant amount of drug abuse that could kill an adult elephant, but not …
review by . September 20, 2010
Hunter S. Thompson was a much celebrated American journalist and writer, and "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" is his most famous book. Written in a style of "gonzo journalism," this seminal book aimed to capture as much as possible the wild and reckless drug-induced adventures of Thompson and his lawyer friend over the course of two journalistic assignments in Las Vegas in the early 70s. The actual protagonists of "Fear and Loathing" were actually slightly altered from the real world personages, …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
While the thought and intention behind the book is genius, it is a disgusting, vile, crude, and uncomfortable read.
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
A sucker for Thompson's scathing and brutal narratives and point of view, I absolutely love all of his work. Check out the Gilliam flick, if you haven't yet.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
A crazy journey, that one can actually join with Gonzo!
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Funny book, and a funny movie too. I read that Hunter S. Thompson made it all up though. An interesting look into the drug culture.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
buy the ticket, take the ride!
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Hunter Thompson was a sick young man and this told the story of one of his sickest tales.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
This book veers from disturbing to hilarious, and isn't afraid to make all the stops inbetween. Get the illustrated version! The sketches are erratic, all signed by thompson as "gonzo", and really add to your state of mind during the read.
About the reviewer
Josh Eklow ()
Ranked #648
I am a graduate student at the University of Iowa. My studies/interests are mostly art and media.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
josheklow
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is the best chronicle of drug-soaked, addle-brained, rollicking good times ever committed to the printed page.  It is also the tale of a long weekend road trip that has gone down in the annals of American pop culture as one of the strangest journeys ever undertaken.

Now this cult classic of gonzo journalism is a major motion picture from Universal, directed by Terry Gilliam and starring Johnny Depp and Benicio del Toro.  Opens everywhere on May 22, 1998.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0679785892
ISBN-13: 978-0679785897
Author: Hunter S. Thompson
Genre: General Fiction
Publisher: Vintage; 2nd edition (May 12, 1998)
Date Published: Original Copyright 1971
Format: Paperback: 224 pages, Product Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.1 x 0.6 inches
First to Review

"A cultural artifact"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists