|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Fight Club (book) » User review

Fight Club: A Novel

A 1996 book by Chuck Palahniuk.

< read all 17 reviews

The First Rule of Fight Club is That You Don't Talk About It

  • May 14, 2003
Rating:
+3
After having watched the interesting movie, I wanted to read the novel and compare the similarities and differences between the two different mediums. I find the movie to be superior, but the book is interesting nonetheless.

FIGHT CLUB is the type of novel that won't make sense if you're just looking for a good story. To begin with, it's a novel that deals with all kinds of complex issues (the enslavement of materialism, what is reality, etc.). However, besides that is the fact that the story is told in first person, but the narrator has some serious problems and his storytelling style seems more in place in a Faulkner novel than in a modern day pop cultural literary novelty. Still the story is semi-coherent and there are some great scenes and quotes ("His name was Robert Paulsen") that you will find yourself saying over and over.

However, the novel does have one serious flaw. The writing is just plain horrible. Contrary to what Palahniuk says, he does not write the way that normal people talk. It doesn't even seem he writes in the way that normal people think. Instead, his prose is a run-off of post-modernistic deconstructionism that distracts rather than attracts.

Still, if you can stay with it and understand all the meaning behind the words, FIGHT CLUB is worth reading.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Fight Club (book) reviews
review by . August 04, 2010
Okay, so I’m going to break the first two rules of Fight Club…       Made famous by the film, Fight Club is about fighting. “No, really?” I hear you cry, and sure, what’s so interesting about two guys beating each other up? Except the novel isn’t really about fighting. It’s about themes as wide ranging as love, grief, illness, terrorism, capitalism and the intricate workings of Western society. Whoa, big stuff.       …
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2010
Quintessential Palahniuk that presents a good balance between an untrustworthy narrative and pop literature...
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
the book is passable, but the film is amazing! the extra visuals really make a difference.
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
Palahniuk's irreverent critiques and parodies of society and consumerism make this an interesting and thoughtful work.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
What if you had a crazy wake up call, and instead of preach peace you preach and spread the caos. Great story. Kind of weird end. What isn't weird in this book?!
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
a man with a split personality cannot cope with it and literally fights himself for control of his thought process. This is one of he silliest concepts ever to become a best seller!! and movie for gawd's sake !!
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Here's a goodly number of hours of my life that I'll never get back. I honestly cannot understand the attraction to Palahniuk's writing; it is bland, nonsensical, irrelevant, confusing, and has an "Emperor's New Clothes" aspect to his fan-base and critical reviewers that makes me even more suspicious. I just can't get into it.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
One of my favorite Paluhniuk books.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Another book made popular by the movie
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
hahahaha sexy but crazy story
About the reviewer

Ranked #39
I like to read and watch movies.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
tomtom13
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Fight Club is a 1996 novel by Chuck Palahniuk. The book chronicles the experiences of an anonymous protagonist who is struggling with a growing discomfort with consumerism as a way of life, and with changes in the state of masculinity in American culture. To overcome this, he establishes an underground fighting club as radical psychotherapy.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0393327345
ISBN-13: 978-0393327342
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: W. W. Norton (October 3, 2005)
Polls with this book
Chuck Palahniuk's Choke

Chuck Palahniuk Fiction

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists