|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » God's Leading Lady » User review

TRUE Inspiration for Women Everywhere

  • Jun 20, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

Extraordinary teacher and leader Bishop T.D. Jakes takes his time to address women in a whole new way. In this book he craftily pinpoints the everyday battles and trials of the 21 century woman and how she can find her way in this world. 

With the stage as a metaphor for life, Jakes uncovers just how each unique woman can stop playing second fiddle in the background to her own life and come forward as the true leading lady. It is empowering with every page as it unravels the meaning behind the emotional and psychological barriers that occur in the lives of ladies all over the world.

This is a true strategic guide for walking in success and stepping into your destiny.
He touches on relationships, motherhood,the working woman and the sinlge lady(and much more) and how you can really have it all without losing yourself in the crowd. He shows how women can hinder there own goals and never even know it. Delving into the very heart of it all Jakes tells what God really wants for women and the mindset needed to achieve greatness. Get ready to feel like Superwoman by the end because this one will sure take you there!



 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
About the reviewer

Ranked #5015
Member Since: Jun 19, 2010
Last Login: Jul 10, 2010 11:36 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
angel41907
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


In the tradition of Woman, Thou Art Loosed! and The Lady, Her Lover, and Her Lord, Bishop Jakes continues to uplift Christian women with this charge for them to step out of the shadows and take their positions onstage as God's leading ladies. The stage metaphor is carried throughout; Jakes encourages women to master the art of improvisation (to put aside pre-arranged scripts... and go with what works in the moment) and to transcend life's outtakes (embarrassing failures). The writing style is vintage Jakes: he poses rhetorical but energetic questions to the reader, shares personal examples from his own life and draws upon the models other women have provided for success. He profiles several biblical women who knew how to step into the limelight: Deborah, Jael, Mary the mother of Jesus, Ruth, Sarah, Tamar and Eve all get juicy roles in Jakes's production. He deals with some sticky biblical passages, arguing, for example, that the let-wives-be-subject-to-their-husbands verse in Ephesians has too often been taken out of context and used to suppress women and rob them of their voices. Jakes also points to modern-day leading ladies, such as radio magnate Cathy Hughes, television icon Oprah Winfrey and First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt as role models. Some of his self-help advice is clichEd; readers are asked to decide, for example, whether their trials will make them bitter or better. Overall, however, Jakes offers a fresh and compassionate summons for women to recognize ...
view wiki

Tags

Details

ISBN-10: 0399148833
ISBN-13: 978-0399148835
Author: T. D. Jakes
Publisher: Putnam Adult
Date Published: June 10, 2002
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists