|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Book » Reviews » Grace Interrupted » User review

Grace Interrupted

A novel by Julie Hyzy

< read all 1 reviews

Enjoyable cozy mystery involving Civil War re-enactors

  • May 25, 2011
Rating:
+5
Grace Interrupted is a well-written mystery. It's the second in a series, but you can follow this one without having read the first novel, and this novel doesn't spoil the mystery in the first one (though it does spoil other events).

There were actually two murders to solve: one that's thirteen years old and one that just happened. I was able to correctly guess "whodunit" for both mysteries before the "reveal," but whodunit wasn't obvious. (Many people hated the murdered men, and it seemed like they all had alibis!)

The characters were varied, complex, and likable. They dealt with realistic issues alongside the mystery (like how living under the suspicion of murder for years had messed up a family). The details about the job, Civil War re-enacting, and the Manor and small town setting were skilfully woven into the story and brought it alive in my imagination.

There were no sex scenes. There was a minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this well-written, enjoyable mystery.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
May 25, 2011
Sounds like a good series!
May 25, 2011
Yes, I'm going to try and get the first book in the series as well as future ones. I really liked her writing style, the characters, the background... :)
May 25, 2011
Nice! Are they easy to procure?
May 26, 2011
The next one in the series hasn't even been written yet (since "Grace Interrupted" releases on June 7th, 2011). However, I've seen "Grace Under Pressure" available at any of the online bookstores I've checked so far.
June 03, 2011
Ok, I'll try to check out Grace Under Pressure. I'm adding it to my TBR shelf for now.
 
1
About the reviewer
Debbie White ()
Ranked #119
I review books, do organic gardening (vegetables, fruit trees, etc.), mentor a young lady, and work with inmates at the local jail and state prison units. I live in a passive solar house (with an active … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
GenreReviewer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Civil War re-enactors have set up camp on the grounds of Marshfield Manor. The group is very believable, especially when the unrest spills out of the camp and into the sumptuous mansion. Grace, the director and head curator of the Manor, manages to settle a minor squabble between some visitors to the Manor and a re-enactor, but she loses the war when re-enactor Zachary Kincade is found stabbed to death.

Jack Embers, the groundskeeper, falls under suspicion when he's linked to the death of Zachary's brother years ago. But Zachary had other enemies: two women out for revenge for a friend Zachary dumped on their wedding day, a re-enactor who was losing the coveted role of "general" to him, and an angry husband whose wife was having an affair with Zachary. Grace believes Jake is innocent, but the police say that the evidence points toward him. She feels responsible for finding out what really happened...and for the sweet tuxedo kitten, Bootsie, found on her doorstep.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0425241904
ISBN-13: 9780425241905
Author: Julie Hyzy
Genre: cozy mystery
Publisher: Berkley Prime Crime
Date Published: June 7, 2011
ISBN: 9780425241905
Format: mass market paperback
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists