|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter Book 6) » User review

Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince

The sixth book in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series.

< read all 45 reviews

The Mystery is slowly unraveled

  • Jun 9, 2010
Rating:
+5

What was your emotional reaction as you read? Why?

I was excited to finally get the next Harry Potter book out and learn more abou tthe plot and discover the mysteries.

 

Who would you recommend this reading to and why?

Anyone who likes young adult and fantasy books. And if you like a book with a good mystery.

 

Consider the setting.

Its set in a mystical world where wizards do magic and learn about how to control and harness their powers.
 

Consider the story/plot.


Each book, including this one takes you on a journey to "fight" the bad guy. However, this book was a little different as it aimed more to unfold the mystery rather than fight like in past HP books. 

Consider character development.

Harry is great in this one. You could tell how much he has matured and grown. He is wiser now, but not so wise as to understand what Snape was really doing. I won't ruin it for those who haven't read this one.

 

Consider themes and motifs.

Loyalty is one of the themes. Another is good v. evil.
 

Consider literary elements used, such as metaphors

When thinking about good and bad, the half blood prince also seems to refer to characters having both a "good" and "bad" side to them, like halves of themselves.
 

What was the message/purpose of the writing?

This book was clearly to make the reader think and try to come up with conclusions why things were happening and what the outcome in the next book will be. It was definetely suspensful.

 

Compare and contrast reading with other book types

This is more than "fairies" and "dragons" like other YA fantasy books. This is a real true mystery with relatable characters and a rich history.

 

Compare and contrast reading to movie adaptations.

The movie is actually pretty good. However, I do feel it leaves out minute details and even clues about the "mystery".

 

Describe the illustrations (if applicable).

Cartoon-like cover.

 

Reflect on the author.


She's cool. I like how she did research on
mythology before putting her book together.
 

Nonfiction: Describe the facts and research.


 

Non-book: How topic is related to "books?"

 

Non-book: If e-reader, evaluate pros and cons.

 

Non-book: Describe value & usability of website.

 

Non-book: Why users should try new reading gadget.

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More Harry Potter And The Half-Bloo... reviews
review by . February 05, 2010
Writing a fictional character from childhood to adulthood, as J. K. Rowling is doing in this series, is not easy; following a character from uncertainty to heroism, as Harry Potter has progressed in Half Blood Prince, is fraught with danger for the writer who attempts it.    And again, Rowling attempts all and succeeds. With one year to go, Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts for Year 6, but not before dealing with lingering complications from the taut climax of Harry Potter and …
review by . July 02, 2010
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince was released during a tragic period of my life, just when I thought that I had grown out of the series I'd loved as a child. I was entering my junior year in high school when my parents decided to move our family from the big city of Los Angeles, California to the small town of the Middle of Nowhere, Georgia. As an act of reconciliation, my brother in law purchased the book about 300 miles out of California. I was so depressed about my loss of friends …
Quick Tip by . October 15, 2010
I was totally "blah" about this novel. It is purely a setup novel--creating the necessary ingredients for the finale. Its very much like laying out all the ingredients to make your own creme brulee. Gathering the ingredients is necessary to making the final product, but ... it isn't exactly all that fun. I didn't feel cheated by the novel, just not even remotely sated.
Quick Tip by . October 14, 2010
This is my favorite book in the series. It's the one that ends on the biggest cliffhanger. Appearances can be deceiving.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
The entire series are worth reading. They are full of imagination.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
Pivotal, but not as strong as other books in the series. A great many hints are dropped that are not necessarily "canon" (e.g., Dumbledore is gay?), and much background is filled in. Good, just a bit longer than I'd have liked (with apologies to the author!). Not the ending you'd expect.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
the half blood prince was a very good book. i liked it a lot. they certainly switched things around by making snape defense against the dark arts teacher in this book. and the horcruxes made voldemort just seem that much more evil. not like he was an angel but the things he did to become immortal are frightening, and very extreme. im going to get the griffindor house crest tattooed on my forearm because i like this series so much.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
harry learns the secret that will unlock his past and his future...a very thrilling and exciting read.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Great book! The story is a bit scary :)
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Good read
About the reviewer

Ranked #869
I'm a Kindle lover!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
esper_d
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The long-awaited, eagerly anticipated, arguably over-hyped Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince has arrived, and the question on the minds of kids, adults, fans, and skeptics alike is, "Is it worth the hype?" The answer, luckily, is simple: yep. A magnificent spectacle more than worth the price of admission, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince will blow you away. However, given that so much has gone into protecting the secrets of the book (including armored trucks and injunctions), don't expect any spoilers in this review. It's much more fun not knowing what's coming--and in the case of Rowling's delicious sixth book, you don't want to know. Just sit tight, despite the earth-shattering revelations that will have your head in your hands as you hope the words will rearrange themselves into a different story. But take one warning to heart: do not open Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince until you have first found a secluded spot, safe from curious eyes, where you can tuck in for a good long read. Because once you start, you won't stop until you reach the very last page.

A darker book than any in the series thus far with a level of sophistication belying its genre, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince moves the series into murkier waters and marks the arrival of Rowling onto the adult literary scene. While she has long been praised for her cleverness and wit, the strength of Book 6 lies in her subtle development of key ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-13: 978-0439791328
Author: J. K. Rowling
Genre: Education, Juvenile Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Arthur a Levine, Scholastic
Date Published: July 16, 2005
Format: Novel
Polls with this book
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter Books

by

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Your favorite books

by

Audi Sports Car Experience

james

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists