|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter Book 6) » User review

Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince

The sixth book in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series.

< read all 51 reviews

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Book 6) - An Excellent Dark Tale

  • Apr 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Rowling really outdid herself this time. This was by far the darkest book of the series and only Order of the Phoenix (Book 5) can compare to it's overall greatness. There is a shocking death and the insane twists and turns Harry Potter has to go through are just one of the book's highest literary triumphs. Not only because of Voldermort's returns but because of the actions and betrayals of other characters as well.

More shocking was the earlier revelation that Draco was assigned to kill someone. Draco got increasingly dark and depressed as the book progressed. From breaking Harry's nose to crying to Moaning Myrtle. Draco definitlely showed his dark and delicate side almost symultaniously. In  the end he ran off with several death eaters (if he accomplished his task or not, you have to read to find out). I hope to find out more when I get the final book tomorrow.

Bill's disfigurement is also a dark twist and shock. The series never denied he was handsome and in this one nothing hid the damage done to his face by Greyback (a horrible wereolf who especially loves attacking children). His fiance Fleur will have a hard road ahead of her. But thankfully she's embraced the task and the Weasley family seems finally ready to embrace her.

Harry has to go to funeral as yet another ally dies in the fight against Voldermort. Afterwards the book series direction is left up in the air and Harry's future more a mystery than in any other book in the series.

HP book 6 is the best and darkest book in the series. I only hope the best for it's author.

P.S.: Due to complaints about me revealing too much in the reviews (I originally had the person who died named in this review). I've decided to remove the name of the deceased and how exactly he/she died. I've also changed a few things to make the story more mysterious but keep the review in order. Hope this helps.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
July 03, 2009
My only criticism of your review is that you gave the whole frakking story away in your first paragraph including who dies! More spoiler-ific than the New York Times! At least you didn't say who the Half Blood Prince was....  Ya might wanna put a spoiler warning on the first paragraph. Otherwise, well-written and you got the sense of Rowling's tale. I wrote a review as well, prepping for the big film coming down the pike.
 
May 15, 2009
I say your review was very helpful, indeed. You obviously love the series-- have you read any of her "spin-off" books like The Tales of Beedle the Bard?
May 18, 2009
No but I finally finished reading HP book seven last Thursday. It took me nine days to finish and I plan to write a few reviews, including one on Dobby. I'm glad my review was helpful and thanks for commenting.
May 18, 2009
Awesome! I look forward to reading them :)
 
1
More Harry Potter And The Half-Bloo... reviews
review by . February 05, 2010
Writing a fictional character from childhood to adulthood, as J. K. Rowling is doing in this series, is not easy; following a character from uncertainty to heroism, as Harry Potter has progressed in Half Blood Prince, is fraught with danger for the writer who attempts it.    And again, Rowling attempts all and succeeds. With one year to go, Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts for Year 6, but not before dealing with lingering complications from the taut climax of Harry Potter and …
review by . July 02, 2010
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince was released during a tragic period of my life, just when I thought that I had grown out of the series I'd loved as a child. I was entering my junior year in high school when my parents decided to move our family from the big city of Los Angeles, California to the small town of the Middle of Nowhere, Georgia. As an act of reconciliation, my brother in law purchased the book about 300 miles out of California. I was so depressed about my loss of friends …
review by . June 09, 2010
What was your emotional reaction as you read? Why?      I was excited to finally get the next Harry Potter book out and learn more abou tthe plot and discover the mysteries.        Who would you recommend this reading to and why?      Anyone who likes young adult and fantasy books. And if you like a book with a good mystery.        Consider the setting.      Its set in a mystical …
Quick Tip by . October 15, 2010
I was totally "blah" about this novel. It is purely a setup novel--creating the necessary ingredients for the finale. Its very much like laying out all the ingredients to make your own creme brulee. Gathering the ingredients is necessary to making the final product, but ... it isn't exactly all that fun. I didn't feel cheated by the novel, just not even remotely sated.
Quick Tip by . October 14, 2010
This is my favorite book in the series. It's the one that ends on the biggest cliffhanger. Appearances can be deceiving.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
The entire series are worth reading. They are full of imagination.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
Pivotal, but not as strong as other books in the series. A great many hints are dropped that are not necessarily "canon" (e.g., Dumbledore is gay?), and much background is filled in. Good, just a bit longer than I'd have liked (with apologies to the author!). Not the ending you'd expect.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
the half blood prince was a very good book. i liked it a lot. they certainly switched things around by making snape defense against the dark arts teacher in this book. and the horcruxes made voldemort just seem that much more evil. not like he was an angel but the things he did to become immortal are frightening, and very extreme. im going to get the griffindor house crest tattooed on my forearm because i like this series so much.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
harry learns the secret that will unlock his past and his future...a very thrilling and exciting read.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Great book! The story is a bit scary :)
About the reviewer
Sheena-kay ()
Ranked #1633
My name is Sheena-kay and I'm a freelance writer in Jamaica. I've hadmy poetry published in Bookends Magazine and poems and letters in The Sunday Gleaner. I'm currently working on a few projects including … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
reggae
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The long-awaited, eagerly anticipated, arguably over-hyped Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince has arrived, and the question on the minds of kids, adults, fans, and skeptics alike is, "Is it worth the hype?" The answer, luckily, is simple: yep. A magnificent spectacle more than worth the price of admission, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince will blow you away. However, given that so much has gone into protecting the secrets of the book (including armored trucks and injunctions), don't expect any spoilers in this review. It's much more fun not knowing what's coming--and in the case of Rowling's delicious sixth book, you don't want to know. Just sit tight, despite the earth-shattering revelations that will have your head in your hands as you hope the words will rearrange themselves into a different story. But take one warning to heart: do not open Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince until you have first found a secluded spot, safe from curious eyes, where you can tuck in for a good long read. Because once you start, you won't stop until you reach the very last page.

A darker book than any in the series thus far with a level of sophistication belying its genre, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince moves the series into murkier waters and marks the arrival of Rowling onto the adult literary scene. While she has long been praised for her cleverness and wit, the strength of Book 6 lies in her subtle development of key ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-13: 978-0439791328
Author: J. K. Rowling
Genre: Education, Juvenile Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Arthur a Levine, Scholastic
Date Published: July 16, 2005
Format: Novel
Polls with this book
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter Books

by

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Your favorite books

by

Audi Sports Car Experience

james

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists