|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter Book 4) » User review

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

The fourth book in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series.

< read all 36 reviews

Best of the Series

  • Jun 22, 2010
Rating:
+5
I found "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" to be just as exciting and entertaining as the previous books, if not more so. Rowlings is a great storyteller, and all her familiar trademarks are here: the colorful and eccentric characters, the humor, the playful use of words, the masterful cultivation of suspense. The book is over seven hundred pages long, but at the end you'll be wishing it were longer. There isn't a slow spot in it.

The story is, however, different in some ways from the previous ones. It's a lot darker and scarier, for one thing. Voldemort and his supporters play a prominent role in it, and their malice forms a palpable undercurrent in the plot from chapter one on. By the end of the story, you get to see just HOW evil Voldemort and his minions actually are. And let me tell you, they're pretty evil.

The other big difference is that Harry, Ron, Hermione and their friends are starting to grow up. The boys and girls have begun to notice each other now, and all the familiar problems of adolescence--jealousy, insecurity, fear of rejection, desire to fit in--or stand out--are starting to descend on them. I enjoy seeing the characters evolve in this way, but those who would rather they stay eternal 11-year-olds may be disappointed.

The story is not as self-contained as those in the previous books. Many plot lines are left open at the end, presumably to be resolved in books #5, 6, and 7. If you think you had a hard time waiting for "Goblet of Fire" to come out, wait till you finish it and are left thinking about the next one!

All in all, I highly recommend this book. If you're already a Harry Potter fan you won't be disappointed, and if you're not, reading it might very well make you one.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
June 23, 2010
Nice review! I agree, this is a terrific book; my favorite of the series.
 
1
More Harry Potter and the Goblet of... reviews
review by . January 19, 2010
In my review of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1) I called it a gentle coming-of-age story with a twist of magic. Well, little Harry Potter is growing up. Year 4 of the HP chronicles is when author J. K. Rowling realized that her audience was growing older (adults as well as kids were reading the series intently) and more mature (her young readers were growing up with Harry and company), so she wrote a strong, mature adventure to entertain them all.     And more …
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
This entire series was just tons of relaxing fun for me!
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Book leaves more questions than answers for the reader and the holes in the plot are big enough to drive a Basilix through.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
The middle novel of the septology is also the most pivotal. Largest of the first four books, the tale expands the Dark Lord's conspiracy, forcing Harry to try convincing the Ministry of Magic and others that he isn't "crying wolf" -- the Dark Lord is back, and the battle of wizards and witches is at hand.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
one of my favorites, the retur of voldemort is one of the most exciting scenes ive ever read. and the quidditch world cup in the begining actually inspired me to get the dark mark tattooed on me in the future.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
fun book
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Things start getting serious in this one.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Series continually gets better!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Pretty good one. From the moment the Goblet of Fire reveals the fourth candidate, it feels like a mystery novel and that mystery is explored the best compared to other books. I like the final fight, the rising of Voldemort- its where you realize this is not your happy go series anymore. He is back. And he just murdered someone.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
loaded with action, the turning point in the tale.
About the reviewer
Cody Brown ()
Ranked #995
Member Since: Jun 22, 2010
Last Login: Jun 29, 2010 09:32 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
codybrown
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

In Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K. Rowling offers up equal parts danger and delight--and any number of dragons, house-elves, and death-defying challenges. Now 14, her orphan hero has only two more weeks with his Muggle relatives before returning to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Yet one night a vision harrowing enough to make his lightning-bolt-shaped scar burn has Harry on edge and contacting his godfather-in-hiding, Sirius Black. Happily, the prospect of attending the season's premier sporting event, the Quidditch World Cup, is enough to make Harry momentarily forget that Lord Voldemort and his sinister familiars--the Death Eaters--are out for murder.

Readers, we will cast a giant invisibility cloak over any more plot and reveal only that You-Know-Who is very much after Harry and that this year there will be no Quidditch matches between Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Slytherin. Instead, Hogwarts will vie with two other magicians' schools, the stylish Beauxbatons and the icy Durmstrang, in a Triwizard Tournament. Those chosen to compete will undergo three supreme tests. Could Harry be one of the lucky contenders?

But Quidditch buffs need not go into mourning: we get our share of this great game at the World Cup. Attempting to go incognito as Muggles, 100,000 witches and wizards converge on a "nice deserted moor." As ever, Rowling magicks up the details that make her world so vivid, and so comic. Several spectators' ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0439139600
ISBN-13: 978-0439139601
Author: J. K. Rowling
Genre: Children's Books, Fantasy
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks, Scholastic
Polls with this book
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter Books

by

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Your favorite books

by

Audi Sports Car Experience

james

by

First to Review

"The Fire Divine..."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists