|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter Book 3) » User review

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

The third book in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series.

< read all 26 reviews

The Best One So Far

  • May 2, 2006
Rating:
+4
I've read the first three Potter books and I've seen all of the films, but I have to say that "Prisoner of Azkaban" is the best of the lot. This book, in my opinion, develops all of the key characters to a degree better than the two previous tales. The reader also begins to notice how age is beginning to affect young Harry. He is slowly becoming a moody teenager, and this is most evident in the early portions of the book when he uses magic in the Muggle world. Hermione and Ron are also developing into more mature young adults. They bicker and squabble like brother and sister(or is it boyfriend and girlfriend?).

We are also introduced to some key characters in Potter lore. Most important are Sirius Black, Remus Lupin and Peter Pettigrew. Without giving too much away for those who haven't read the book or viewed the flicks, just know that these three characters are pivotal to this particular book AND future volumes. We also catch a glimpse of characters like Cedric Diggory, Professor Trelawney, and Cho Chang.

Not only are we introduced to some new characters, but we get to catch up with the likes of Draco Malfoy, Crabbe, Goyle, Seamus Finnigan, Percy, Fred and George, and the clueless Neville Longbottom.


For those unfamiliar with this book, it tells the story of Harry's third year at Hogwart's. Naturally, trouble is a-brewing and it is centered around Harry. It seems that the murderous Sirius Black has escaped from Azkaban prison, a first in the wizarding world. He seems to be intent on finishing what Voldemort started, which is to kill Harry. As the story unfolds, things become rather interesting and culminate in the best Potter climax that I've read so far.

Once again, I have to throw in that all of the Potter books are wonderful for youngsters to read. They are full of adventure and wonder that any young mind can easily digest. These stories let kids be kids, and fire their imaginations into creating their own adventures. Harry ISN'T satanic, nor does he lead children into the world of magic. As long as parents tend to their children properly, there won't be any problems. Do be advised that as Harry grows, his adventures become more precarious and deal with young adult themes, so I would try to stay at least one book ahead of my child in reading these stories. My daughter isn't quite old enough to read these stories, but she has seen all of the films. However, she is not allowed to watch all of the "Goblet of Fire" film, and if you've seen it, you know why.

Highly recommended book for youngsters and oldsters alike.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Harry Potter and the Prisoner ... reviews
review by . January 11, 2010
My least favorite of the Harry Potter opus so far. The conclusion takes too long to unwind, without the eyes-glued-to-the-page excitement of the conclusion of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Book 2). Some fun new concepts are introduced--the helpful Marauder's Map, the creepy Dementors, the powerful Patronus--and two well-drawn new teachers are highlighted--Divinations Professor Trelawney providing comic relief and Dark Arts Professor Lupin providing the most useful instruction Harry's …
Quick Tip by . February 22, 2011
This is the book where Harry and friends became "real" to me. The characters and the story are beginning to mature. This is particularly true when compared against the rank silliness that drives much of Chamber of Secrets.
Quick Tip by . September 29, 2010
The series suddenly got darker, and the characters deeper in this one. Not sure about the twist, but it worked.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
i give a 5 because sirius black is my favorite character out of the entire HP series, and the idea of the marauders map was quite entertaining.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
harry finds a long lost family member, hes not so alone anymore and he saves a hippogriff even better.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
This book is one of my favorites of the series. I love the pace, the lack of Voldemort which was a good break, (no, I am not afraid to speak his name), and the unfolding of more secrets about Harry's life. Also, the final chapters had a flow and brightness I think none of the other endings had.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
great book...... the movie DID NOT do the book any justice. I am SO glad that I read the book first..... but GEESSSSSSSS
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
a fan of Harry Potter. What else can I say?
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
My favorite Harry Potter novel!
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
The first book of the series that really leaves you craving more. This book was a game-changer for the series. Thank God for Harry Potter.
About the reviewer
Kendall Fontenot ()
Ranked #17
Despite looking extremely cool, I have to admit that I'm a dork. I grew up on the outskirts of the small town of Oberlin, LA. I have since relocated to the Lake Charles, LA area.I love my home state … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kfontenot
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

For most children, summer vacation is something to look forward to. But not for our 13-year-old hero, who's forced to spend his summers with an aunt, uncle, and cousin who detest him. The third book in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series catapults into action when the young wizard "accidentally" causes the Dursleys' dreadful visitor Aunt Marge to inflate like a monstrous balloon and drift up to the ceiling. Fearing punishment from Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon (and from officials at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry who strictly forbid students to cast spells in the non-magic world of Muggles), Harry lunges out into the darkness with his heavy trunk and his owl Hedwig.

As it turns out, Harry isn't punished at all for his errant wizardry. Instead he is mysteriously rescued from his Muggle neighborhood and whisked off in a triple-decker, violently purple bus to spend the remaining weeks of summer in a friendly inn called the Leaky Cauldron. What Harry has to face as he begins his third year at Hogwarts explains why the officials let him off easily. It seems that Sirius Black--an escaped convict from the prison of Azkaban--is on the loose. Not only that, but he's after Harry Potter. But why? And why do the Dementors, the guards hired to protect him, chill Harry's very heart when others are unaffected? Once again, Rowling has created a mystery that will have children and adults cheering, not to mention standing in line for her next book....

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0439136350
ISBN-13: 978-0439136358
Author: J.K. Rowling
Genre: Children's Books, Fantasy
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Novel
Polls with this book
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter Books

by

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Your favorite books

by

First to Review

"Wonderful"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists