|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Infinite Days: A Vampire Queen Novel » User review

Vampires Are Not "Out"

  • Sep 24, 2010
Rating:
+4

PJVs QUICKIE POV: I have to admit, I read this book for the first time and wasn't blown away, but it  burrowed under my skin like a beetle. It stuck with me, it ate away at me, I thought about it and replayed scenes? WTH? Then I won the audio book, so, even though I had just read the book I listened. And I listened. Maybe it was my state of mind while reading - or maybe I rushed through it - or maybe the voice of the reader {Justine Eyre} who was two shades of freaking awesome, but I was completely and utterly impressed. I think it was a little bit of allowing it to steep and then the revisit sank it home. The book was excellent, vampires are not "out" - Rebecca Maizel proves that they just might be here to stay.

REVIEW: The statement when reading/listening to this book that went through my head a lot, was that this was Twilight's anti-thesis. The main character/vamp is a female, Lenah Beaudonte, the baddest of the bad, Lenah terrorized England for 500 years. She formed a tight coven around her for the sole purpose of being unstoppable. These vampires don't sparkle. They kill. They have no feelings besides the ones that make them better predators, they have lost all sense of touch, limited smelling ability, and their entire existence is painful. 

Lenah is on the cusp of insanity and she makes a decision, she wants to become human again. The process is deadly though and takes 100 years - and their is no guarantee.

She awakens 100 years later in the modern era, a human, confused about modern life. She is forced to attend a mortal high school to blend and hide from her coven and immersed in human life she finally gets to experience life, the human life that was stolen from her.

Like I said at first, the supposed idiosyncrasies stuck out like a sore thumb to me. Like why would a 500 year old vampire have to attend high school? Secondly, why would a 500 year old killer let stupid 16 year old girls bully her? Those kind of got into my "craw" so-to-speak, but then on deeper reflection I began to realize that there really are two people, Lenah the vampire and Lenah the human.  These aren't your soul-possessing, hugable, lovable vamps -  upon the change into vampire all humanity is lost - so technically, while Lenah is in possession of her vampire memories, she really is a "new" person. So, once I ditched that POV I was able to embrace the novel, immerse myself in Maizel's voice - which is simply poetic - and revel in the underlying story which actually holds a very deep message. Beautiful character portrayal, writing that drips upon the paper like caramel and a very interesting interpretation of the vampire - Infinite Days is the embodiment of the great YA that is being published as of late.  Hats off to Ms. Maizel for an exceptional debut. Read the book, or get the audio book, they were both excellent.

RECOMMENDATIONS: There are some darker topics that are covered in this novel. I recommend the book for mature teens. Fans of books such as Twilight, Vampire Academy and The House of Night series should enjoy.
Vampires Are Not Vampires Are Not

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More Infinite Days: A Vampire Queen... reviews
review by . August 13, 2010
Lenah Beaudonte is a 500+ year old... teenager. She was turned by her maker when she was a mere 16 years old. She has ruled as vampire queen for centuries and time has made her into a monster. She kills for sport, has no feelings, no emotions. She has longed to be human, if for nothing else then to save herself and any who might cross her path, and with the help of her maker and former lover, Rhode, she has accomplished just that. She is human! Enrolled in the private and secluded Wickham Boarding …
review by . August 05, 2010
Vampires are a big commodity -- with teens, moms, everyone. I haven't been too into the vampire craze, but I'm always up for a good dramatic story.    With INFINITE DAYS, Rebecca Maizel delivers.    I heard the author speak at the Book Expo, and her take on the story intrigued me: Lenah is a 592 year old vampire turns human and lives in a boarding school as a 16-year-old girl. She has all this guilt associated with her evil ruthless vampire life as she begins …
review by . August 03, 2010
Once the queen of a vicious vampire coven, Lenah Beaudonte is a vampire no more. With the help and sacrifice of her love Rhode, Lenah has been able to become human again--the dream of all vampires. Now Lenah is just a sixteen-year-old girl who needs to figure out how to fit into the twenty first century. Or is she? Even as Lenah learns how to live again and undergoing the experience of human love and emotions, her old coven threatens her newfound happiness and humanity. Lenah's deep connections …
review by . August 03, 2010
Review courtesy of [...]    INFINITE DAYS is a grab you by the throat, ignore the world around you, fall completely in love with kind of book, the kind I haven't really read since Twilight. Yep. I just used the T-word.    The mythology of vampires in INFINITE DAYS is refreshingly unique in that it removes all the romanticism from vampires without reducing them to feral monsters. Yes, they are pale super beings who crave human blood, but they are truly cursed …
About the reviewer
Rachel ()
Ranked #423
Book reviewer, reader, artist and overall paranormal junkee. Also known as Parajunkee and owner of parajunkee.com     
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Parajunkee
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

"Infinite Days is a deliciously engaging mix of vampires and romance, peppered with humor and layered with a lush, grippingly dark backstory. Rebecca Maizel's first novel is a real treat!" --A.M. Jenkins, author of Damage

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0312649916
ISBN-13: 978-0312649913
Author: Rebecca Maizel
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists