|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Invisible Monsters » User review

Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk

A book by Chuck Palahniuk

< read all 7 reviews

Nobody really gets noticed - not anymore

  • Nov 15, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
Despite the tragedy of the storyline and the callousness of the lead characters, I promise you are going to get several belly laughs from this twisted piece of literature.

In a zany prose reminiscent of Candace Bushnell's 'Sex In The City' and the surrealism of Bret Easton Ellis's works, Palahniuk has written a twisted and sick tale of disfigurement, love, hate, and fashion here in Invisible Monsters.

Shannon McFarland's career as a picture perfect model was ruined the day her lower jaw was shot off while she was driving down the freeway. Her best friend Evie Cottrell steals all her clothing while she is in the hospital, and her fiancé Manus Kelley leaves her; but during her speech therapy classes she meets the enigma that is Brandy Alexander.

Brandy befriends Shannon, and together with friend Seth Thomas they set off on a wild cross country tour, viewing high end estates up for sale and stealing all of the prescription drugs from them. But believe me when I say, nothing is as it seems in this crazy story. You are in for several very big surprises.

Invisible Monsters is a book that is not about the plot, it is about the characters, and yet there are twists upon twists upon twists every turn of the page. Who is Brandy Alexander? Who is Shannon McFarland? Who is Seth Thomas? And who is Evie Cottrell? You'll just have to keep reading. Like me, you will probably wind out not caring about any of them, but they are going to make you laugh out loud with their outrageous plans and antics.

You'll have tears running down your face when Shannon's parents (in a flashback scene before her disfigurement) give her nothing but condoms for Christmas because her brother died of AIDS. And the conversation around the Thanksgiving table turns to graphic depictions of hinder romping while they cower in unnecessary fear because they support AIDS families. Be thankful these are not your parents.

Told oddly in a profusion of scene jumping, using the written word like flash photography, Palahniuk has written a psychotically offbeat tale that nonetheless will have you turning pages as rapidly as Brandy pops vicodin and estrogen. I found it strangely enjoyable and morbidly compelling, and if you like screwy and disgusting stories, you will most likely love Invisible Monsters. Enjoy!
Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
December 13, 2008
No gift, but he joked in his signing of the book. I told him it was my favorite, and inside he wrote "Sorry Margie, Sorry Mom, Sorry God" about it. He's a very nice, down-to-earth, and likeable man. --Schtinky :)
May 01, 2009
he's so nice. : ] i have a ginormous orange flower from him. i'm still looking for the roll of film where i kissed chuck on the cheek @ a reading. [remember film?!?] invisible monsters seems like the precursor to fight club. although it was published after fight club.
 
December 13, 2008
did he give you one of his random gifts? a good friend of mine told him how much of an influence he was and he gave her his custom preview copy of survivor. i was really envious. ~T
 
December 13, 2008
Hi Audiotaco, I met Chuck in person and had him sign my copy of Invisible Monsters. I was also lucky enough to get my picture taken with him and Gary A Braunbeck. -- Schtinky :)
 
December 13, 2008
This is my favorite book by Chuck P. aside from "Survivor"
 
1
More Invisible Monsters reviews
review by . July 08, 2010
Invisible Monsters, like all of Palahniuk's works, is an emotional shock-coaster, full of "huh?"s and "wtf?"s. It's a tragic story of how superficial beauty makes you accustomed to a life of decadence, thus leading to a completely boring existence. The story takes you through the character's ways of spicing things up a bit.      The character development is a bit shaky. Some characters you feel you know inside and out, and others that are of equal …
review by . July 10, 2010
to all chuck fans, i salute you! my favorite author of all time, and a satyrical genius actually. he makes my brain hurt when trying to figure out the story inside the story.      a story about models. best friends, yet enemies. her long lost brother, and a transvestite. among others. this unfortunate young model gets her face blown off in an "accident". having half a face, she must wear something over her face at all times. she meets a transvestite named brandi, who …
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
A lesser known work by the author responsible for "Fight Club", and one in which far more twists and turns abound, in my opinion leading to a far more pleasing sense of disorientation than reliance on predominantly one, larger twist, (though I will say the narration is not as consistently stylish as other works).
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
deffinately a 5/5. my favorite book of all time. palahniuk always has knows exactly what i like i guess. a lot of crazy things happen, but always as if none of it is a big deal. i like his books a lot, i read and own everyone up to snuff. did anyone else know this is the story behind the song "time to dance"? listen to the lyrics and youll see what i mean=)
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
I love Chuck Palahniuk. I've read and reread Invisible Monsters and I catch something new every time.
About the reviewer

Ranked #48
I want to thank Everyone for welcoming me back! :) I'm here to stay folks, my sabbatical on writing reviews is over and I'll continue to review for Lunch. It's great to be back, too! Thanks again for … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Schtinky
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

From Publishers Weekly
Palahniuk's grotesque romp aims to skewer the ruthless superficiality of the fashion world and winds up with a tale as savagely glib as what it derides. Narrator Shannon McFarland, once a gorgeous fashion model, has been hideously disfigured in a mysterious drive-by shooting. Her jaw has been shot off, leaving her not only bereft of a career and boyfriend, but suddenly invisible to the world. Along comes no-nonsense, pill-popping diva Brandy Alexander, a resplendent, sassy, transgendered chick, who has modeled her body rearrangement--the breast implants, the hair, the figure--on what Shannon used to look like. Brandy suggests veils, high camp and no self-pity. Shannon wants revenge[...] Adding to the plot's contrivances are the relentless flashbacks, heralded at the beginning of almost every paragraph with "Jump back to..." and the author's pretentious device of using a fashion photographer's commands ("Flash. Give me adoration. Flash. Give me a break") to signpost the narrator's epiphanies. Palahniuk writes like he's overdosed on Details magazine. Though the absurd surprise ending may incite groans of disbelief, this book does have fun moments when campy banter tops the heroine's flat, whiny bathos. (Sept.) FYI: The film of Palahniuk's novel Fight Club will star Brad Pitt.
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0393319296
ISBN-13: 978-0393319293
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Genre: General Fiction, Horror
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company (September 1999)
Date Published: (September 1999)
Format: Paperback: 278 pages, Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 0.9 inches
Polls with this book
Chuck Palahniuk's Choke

Chuck Palahniuk Fiction

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists