|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life » User review

It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life

A book by cyclist Lance Armstrong with Sally Jenkins.

< read all 4 reviews

A story worth reading---"Its Not About the Bike; My Journey Back to Life, by Lance Armstrong

  • Apr 8, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3
So I am not going to pretend I am Lance Armstrong's biggest fan. The truth is I know little about cycling, The Tour de France, or Mr. Armstrong himself. I know he supposedly broke Sheryl Crows heart, and that alone makes me less of a fan. I also know he is constantly being tested for performance-enhancing drugs...but they always come back negative.

With that said, I was waiting for a Jamba Juice (its a west-coast smoothie chain, for you non-west coasters) one day and picked up Lance Armstrong's biography, "Its Not About the Bike; My Journey Back to Life." I started the book cover, than the reviews, a few pages, and by the time I had my drink...I was hooked.

I went through the book in about two days...its an easy read. Quick-moving, honest, witty, and humorous. Which is all amazing considering a good portion of the book walks you through the hardest moments of a human's battle with cancer. I myself have had love ones battle this disease, and I must say-- he does not hold back. He forewarns you on the really intense chapters (treatments and side effects) but with that said, I was still often caught of guard by his openness. It is that voice--that pure, intense, sincerity--that makes this book one of my favorites.

For you sport types there is actually a great deal "about the bike" and he definitely touches on his challenges with the Cycling Commision, competitors, fans, and not-so-much fans, and his family, as well as his relationship with his then-wife. The vignettes he offers are  well-written, and well-placed through-out his grander journey--the inward battle with being an amazing athlete and a cancer victim at the same time.

I recommend this book highly for pretty much anyone who needs a little hope that we all have the ability to conquer something which at first seems impossible. Its a "David and Goliath" match-up and its an amazing book. Definitely check it out.
Its Not About The Bike, Lance Armstrong/Book Cover

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
43
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
October 05, 2009
Thanks for the review! I've recently become a Tour de France fan and I think I have to pick up this book!
 
April 08, 2009
Very good review....I saw the book, didn't read it, but now have an incentive to take a second look....thanks!
 
April 01, 2009
Nice review, Joanna.
 
April 01, 2009
Good review! Apparently Lance has his hands in a number of ventures- Lance Armstrong
 
February 07, 2009
I'm surprised to hear this is a good read! Thanks for your review! Oh, and btw, Jamba Juice does exist on the East coast and Chicago. I used to hit that up all the time when I lived there! :)
 
1
More It's Not About the Bike: My Jo... reviews
review by . July 27, 2010
The Lance Armstrong story is well known. His triumphs in cycling as well as his fight with terminal cancer are the stuff that newspapers are made of. Trying to elaborate about those triumphs had better be compelling, or the whole account in book form becomes a dead letter.    And, Lance Armstrong is definitely not a dead letter. His autobiography, 'It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life,' keeps his legacy, just like his life, fresh and alive.     As …
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
If you're a fan of Lance Armstrong, you'll certainly want to take some time and peruse this book.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
What an inspiration to people who have struggled. Lance Armstrong gives a great story about all the trials and tribulations and how he has risen above!
Quick Tip by . June 09, 2010
A good read, especially if you are looking to learn more about Lance.
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
You get to know the "superhero" Lance Armstrong as a person. We are all human, we all have troubles, but we can overcome those troubles. Truly motivational!
review by . September 22, 2008
Its not about the bike, in fact there are only two paragraphs in the whole book that talk about the bike. This book is about Lances diagnosis, his struggle to accept his new reality, the aftermath of living as a cancer survivor, and trying to have a baby using frozen sperm. Oh yeah, and also winning the Tour De France.    I enjoyed the book because I like the "overcoming really bad odds and still becoming a champion" type of story. I do not cycle, unless you count the sporadic …
review by . July 31, 2000
If you can read this book without becoming caught up in Armstrong's struggle and inspiration, you're a pretty tough nut--if I can use that expression in this context. Huge kudos to Sally Jenkins for telling Lance's story without diluting any of his true voice and character. The book is extremely well-written and riveting from the first words. Whether you are an avid cycling fan or not, this a story of human drama that transcends the pro sport aspect and becomes simply a tale told beautifully--no …
About the reviewer
Joanna ()
Ranked #243
Lots to write, and as I type this I have fewer characters to introduce myself with...lets just say...I'm a happy person and I really enjoy this thing called "life." I'm all about connecting with new people … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jojelava
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life is a 2000 autobiographical book by cyclist Lance Armstrong with Sally Jenkins.

The book was written shortly after Armstrong had won the 1999 Tour de France: he went on to win it six further times in successive years, establishing a record. In 1996, he had been diagnosed with testicular cancer, which spread to his lungs, abdomen and brain, and was only given a 40 percent chance of living. This disrupted his career, but his success on his return prompted elements in the media to accuse him of doping.

The book covers his story from childhood to the 1999 Tour, and the subsequent birth of his first child. A subsequent autobiographical instalment, entitled Every Second Counts and also with Sally Jenkins as co-author, continues the narrative until his 2003 Tour victory.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0425179613
ISBN-13: 978-0425179611
Author: Lance Armstrong
Genre: Biographies & Memoirs, Outdoors & Nature, Health, Mind & Body
Publisher: Berkley Trade
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists