|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Jurassic Park (book) » User review

Jurassic Park (book)

A science fiction/thriller novel by Michael Crichton about genetically engineered dinosaurs.

< read all 23 reviews

Raptors And Triceratops And T-Rex.....Oh My!!

  • Apr 9, 2007
  • by
Rating:
+5
Okay, so it doesn't quite roll off of the tongue like the famous line from "The Wizard of Oz," but Michael Crichton's "Jurassic Park" runs through a very similar vein of tall tales. It's the story of dinosaurs who are forced into a new world that they are unaccustomed to. So what does a T-Rex do in a strange new environment? The exact same thing it did so many millions of years ago. It eats everything in its path. Crichton tackles the very touchy arena of ethics in science. Should we do something for profit or scientific advancement no matter what the consequences might be? Is it always good to bring something back that's extinct? What happens when you try to control a living thing by denying it certain necessities? All of this and more is answered in this Crichton page-turner-turned-mega-movie.

The book, as is almost always the case, is much better than the film, and that's saying a lot considering how excellent the film adaptation of "Jurassic Park" was. It really captured the primary message of the book. I won't go into any deep detail since most people have either read the book already or have watched the film, but I will say that the book has much better character and story development. There are a few surprises as well in the overall outcome of the story. Characters that have minute or non-existent roles in the film are expanded upon in the book, and the list of survivors doesn't necessarily include all of the group from the film. In fact, I'm glad that a couple of characters had different fates on the page than they did on the screen.

Overall, this is an excellent book. Crichton crafted a wonderful science fiction thriller that is just as suspenseful as the flick and is better as a whole. If you're looking for sci-fi thrills, ethical arguments, and even a few scientific facts, "Jurassic Park" is just what Dr. Grant ordered.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Jurassic Park (book) reviews
Quick Tip by . January 24, 2012
The movie was superior, the visual appearance of the dinosaurs could not be matched by print.
Quick Tip by . November 08, 2010
I saw the movie before reading the book. The book was better--more logical, more self-consistent, and a much better ending.
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2010
I was in 6th grade when I read this book and I had a hard time getting into it. Maybe a I was a little too young.
review by . June 25, 2010
This is one of those books that I read and a young teenager and thought "how cool" and after reading it last year, almost 10 years later I was still blown away and even more impressed at the respectable imagery. The movie of course is a 90's classic but the book blows it out of the water. There is such creativity from things as interesting as a pygmy elephant the size of a chicken to the sheer terror of how destructive and ignorant humans can be. Dinosaurs are a child's …
review by . August 11, 2010
   I have to say I was very pleased with Jurassic Park. I have been a long time fan of the Steven Spielberg film, but I can honestly say the movie comes up way short compared to the book. The book dips way deeper into the science behind the dinosaurs, and the ethical considerations of building the park. Not to mention, it is much more suspenseful and scary.
Quick Tip by . June 05, 2010
One of my favorite thrillers of all-time and a great modern science fiction novel. Crichton knew how to take real science and combine it with an imaginative plot to create superb fiction.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Cricton'swbest work, by far, of what happens when man tries his hand t being God. and the dangers inherent with it. Great good and evil characters.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Crichton's forte was the science of "twenty minutes into the future" -- modern tech with just a little step added to make the impossible believable. He's at the top of his game in this neo-dinosaur thriller that also launched an incredibly well-done film. You get the creepy feeling that someone out there is actually trying to make it happen...
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
I love the scientific basis that backs up the plot!
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
If you have seen the movies, you will love the book even more
About the reviewer
Kendall Fontenot ()
Ranked #17
Despite looking extremely cool, I have to admit that I'm a dork. I grew up on the outskirts of the small town of Oberlin, LA. I have since relocated to the Lake Charles, LA area.I love my home state … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kfontenot
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Unless your species evolved sometime after 1993 when Jurassic Park hit theaters, you're no doubt familiar with this dinosaur-bites-man disaster tale set on an island theme park gone terribly wrong. But if Speilberg's amped-up CGI creation left you longing for more scientific background and ... well, character development, check out the original Michael Crichton novel. Although not his best book (get ahold of sci-fi classic The Andromeda Strain for that), Jurassic Park fills out the film version's kinetic story line with additional scenes, dialogue, and explanations while still maintaining Crichton's trademark thrills-'n'-chills pacing. As ever, the book really is better than the movie. -- Paul Hughes
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0345370775
ISBN-13: 978-0345370778
Author: Michael Crichton
Genre: Thriller, Intelligent Science Fiction
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf, Ballantine Books
Date Published: 1990
Format: Novel
Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists