|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days » User review

Surprisingly exciting

  • Feb 10, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
The story opens over the Atlantic, on a 747 enroute to London. The pilot, Rayford Steele, is daydreaming about pretty flight attendant Hattie, and rationalizing the end of his marriage. In first class sits Buck Williams, a respected journalist on the way to his next big story. Suddenly, chaos erupts on the plane as dozens of people vanish! And millions more are missing from every country on earth. Over the next few days, Ray, Hattie, and Buck will meet again and deal with these disappearances, as well as mind-boggling changes in the world of international politics.

I'd heard about this book, of course, but had never been interested in reading it, until I picked up a used copy on a whim. After just a few pages, I was hooked. It's full of action and drama, told in an easy-reading style that makes the pages fly by. Based on Bible prophesy but not overly-preachy,  it's thought-provoking and intense and left me almost breathless at the end, eager to read the next book in the series. Highly recommended.
Book cover

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
February 17, 2009
I haven't read the book but I have seen the movie based on it. (of course I am sure the book is better) You might want to check that one out, but stay away from the sequels..
 
1
More Left Behind: A Novel of the Ea... reviews
review by . July 01, 2010
My emotional reaction to this book was one of enlightenment, as I am not a religious person and the story sure does teach a lot about the Testament.  I would recommend this book to anyone who is religious but also anybody who loves an adventure about good/evil, someone who is spiritually open minded, because it is well written, believable and sticks to actual facts/predictions that are in the Bible.       The setting is, to begin with, in an aeroplane.  …
review by . June 15, 2010
The book carried me through a wide range of emotions.  It was amazing how much I actually learned about the Word of God through reading this fictional account of the people in Left Behind.       I recommend this reading to everyone seeking the truth and a deeper understanding of what the word of God is trying to convey to us about the end of days.      The characters are developed so well that you feel an intimate relationship with …
review by . July 16, 2010
The entire Left Behind series is a good read; however, I do caution readers on taking the account literally.  It is a good depiction of what the end times could be like.  However, it is based on man’s interpretation and not necessarily accurate scripturally. It provides some great insight into what it could be like and certainly allows for great discussions on how others think it will go down. 
review by . June 14, 2010
*No spoilers here, just giving an overall review*      Being a familiar with Christian eschatology (end times stuff) helps in understanding the basis of this book. Personally, and as a Christian, this book provided a "picture" of sorts of things I'd previously learned about the end times. Though I do recommend it to those likewise familiar, it may seem a little off the deep end for those who aren't. Also, not everything in this book is completely accurate so …
review by . July 02, 2010
      I read almost all of the series and got completely infatuated with the story.  It was very dramatic.  I would recommend this book to believers and non-believers due to the values it teaches.      The typical family life and typical family issues makes it easy to relate and be drawn in to the story.      The characters were easy to relate to and it made it easy to get upset when bad things happened      to them.     
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
The only thing interesting about these books is the degree to which the authors demonstrate a complete ignorance of human experience on every page. The writing is clunky, the characters are as deep as the film on my shower walls, and the plot drags on, and on, and on, and on, and on and...........on. Read C.S. Lewis if you want fiction that brings the full resources of the Christian faith to bear on REAL human experience.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
The first book is good, but then you fall in an unending story. I personaly don`t like this kind of theoretic eschatology, but this book is edifying.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
What could have been a good post-apocalyptic series set in a Christian eschatology is ruined by ravings of fundamentalist bigotry and a complete lack of useful character morals.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
What could have been a good post-apocalyptic series set in a Christian eschatology is ruined by ravings of fundamentalist bigotry and a complete lack of useful character morals.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I really loved this series. The first book was one of the best.
About this book

Wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0842329129 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780842329125 (pbk.)
Author: Tim Lahaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
Genre: Christian Fiction
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Date Published: January 29, 1996
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists