|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Lies My Teacher Told Me: Everything your American History textbook got wrong. » User review

Lies My Teacher Told Me James W Loewen

Alternative US History textbook by James W. Loewen

< read all 5 reviews

Makes you angry, but hey, it's worth it!

  • Dec 9, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
James W. Loewen's Lies My Teacher Told Me was part of a book list that my high school history teacher offered us to get some extra credit here and there. Let me tell you, I'm glad I picked this one out!

Loewen exposes the truth and reveals myths and flat-out lies about American History in every chapter. The great thing about the book is that you don't necessarily have to read it in order from end to end. Just one chapter is enough to get you to question everything you hold dear and true.

If you identify as conservative in many of your beliefs then this book will most likely upset you in many ways. But even if that's true, it's still worth reading just to expose yourself to a different set of knowledge or thinking so you can make better arguments. Personally, I was so put off the first time I read it that I didn't make it to the last chapters. A few years later, in college, I picked it up and read it cover to cover in a matter of days.

Give it a chance, and see just how much you really know about certain watershed events in our country's history! You won't be disappointed.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
June 16, 2010
I've wanted to read this one anyway. Now I will!
 
December 09, 2008
I want to read this book!! I feel like it's reverse of the history channel! very intriguing... hmmm... excellent.
 
1
More Lies My Teacher Told Me: Every... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Real history instead of the censored drivel forced on the masses through liberal companies and a complacent society.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Interesting look at what we thought we knew.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Mandatory reading for any history enthusiast!
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Awesome book and history, Good read.
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #104
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

James W. Loewen's Lies My Teacher Told Me exposes many truths about the misinformation of American History that is presented to children across America in their history textbooks.

ISBN: 0-684-81886-8

Table of Contents:

Handicapped by history: the process of hero-making -- 1493: the true importance of Christopher Columbus -- Truth about the first Thanksgiving -- Red eyes -- "Gone with the wind": the invisibility of racism in American history textbooks -- John Brown and Abraham Lincoln: the invisibility of antiracism in American history textbooks -- Land of opportunity -- Watching big brother: what textbooks teach about the federal government -- Down the memory hole: the disappearance of the recent past -- Progress is our most important product -- Why is history taught like this? -- What is the result of teaching history like this?
view wiki

Tags

Books, Nonfiction, History, James W Loewen

Details

ISBN-10: 0684818868 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780684818863 (pbk.)
Author: James W. Loewen
Genre: Historiography
Publisher: Touchstone/Simon & Schuster
Date Published: January 1996
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists