|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Life of Pi » User review

Life of Pi

A book by Yann Martel

< read all 24 reviews

perfect novel to read while travelling

  • Dec 13, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
i adored this book about a boy travelling with a tiger in a magical world.  i happened to have read the book while honeymooning in Croatia. i was in my own world of magic and found this book to be the perfect complement.  i honestly don't recall too many details (it's been awhile!) but i know it captivated me, caused me to think about my philosophies on zoo animals (vs. in the wild), and was just the right amount of whimsy in a very original story.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
January 13, 2009
Honeymoon in Croatia? I'm planning on going there this year, AND I've always wanted to read this book. Thanks for the rec.. maybe I'll read it while on holiday there!
 
1
More Life of Pi reviews
Quick Tip by . October 01, 2010
I liked it. I never worked out what I thought had happened, but I still liked it. One of the few "inconclusive" novels that still has me hooked.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
I tried three times and was never able to make it through this. I've heard the end is good and the beginning was exciting, but the middle is a long stretch.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
love this book, entertaining with an interesting ending.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
great story!!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
In some ways, a challenging read due to length and some of the specifics of the journey. Overall, however, an amazing journey to take. At turns practical and philosophical, it's a book that will hold you to the end.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
It starts out slow but the writing is charming and the story is interesting.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
A great adventure!
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
loved it
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
loved this book!
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Started out interesting but quickly became boring.
About the reviewer
kate fulford ()
Ranked #782
i've always been known for my sense of style, goofy sense of humor and overall smarts. i enjoy the random facets of life, brainstorming for my personal pleasure and launching very tiny businesses. i am … more
About this book

Wiki

Yann Martel's imaginative and unforgettableLife of Piis a magical reading experience, an endless blue expanse of storytelling about adventure, survival, and ultimately, faith. The precocious son of a zookeeper, 16-year-old Pi Patel is raised in Pondicherry, India, where he tries on various faiths for size, attracting "religions the way a dog attracts fleas." Planning a move to Canada, his father packs up the family and their menagerie and they hitch a ride on an enormous freighter. After a harrowing shipwreck, Pi finds himself adrift in the Pacific Ocean, trapped on a 26-foot lifeboat with a wounded zebra, a spotted hyena, a seasick orangutan, and a 450-pound Bengal tiger named Richard Parker ("His head was the size and color of the lifebuoy, with teeth"). It sounds like a colorful setup, but these wild beasts don't burst into song as if co-starring in an anthropomorphized Disney feature. After much gore and infighting, Pi and Richard Parker remain the boat's sole passengers, drifting for 227 days through shark-infested waters while fighting hunger, the elements, and an overactive imagination. In rich, hallucinatory passages, Pi recounts the harrowing journey as the days blur together, elegantly cataloging the endless passage of time and his struggles to survive: "It is pointless to say that this or that night was the worst of my life. I have so many bad nights to choose from that I've made none the champion."

An award winner in ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0156027321
ISBN-13: 978-0156027328
Author: Yann Martel
Genre: Literature & Fiction, Mystery & Thrillers
Publisher: Mariner Books
Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

First to Review

"A BOOK TO DEVOUR"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists