|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Lord of the Flies » User review

Lord of the Flies

A book by William Golding

< read all 8 reviews

I've Got the Conch

  • Jul 2, 2010
Rating:
+3
Lord of the Flies is a book that should be read by any and all, but especially those who might relate to the characters in the book the most: younger boys. I read this book in school and loved it. As I have continued to re-read it, I have gained more appreciation for the greater themes in the book and what the boys (and their struggle) represent. It's a good thing to have under your belt, as it is constantly referenced, parodied, and pastiched. One of my favorite books, Battle Royale, definitely shares some DNA with this book.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
More Lord of the Flies reviews
review by . November 17, 2010
"The Lord Of The Flies" is an exciting adventure yarn that memorably delves into the problem of free will versus social order. Unlike most such literary explorations, we learn here that free will may not be all that great after all, or a confining social order all that bad.      A plane crashes in a tropical island, leaving a large but unorganized group of pre-teen boys the only survivors. A boy named Ralph takes charge by virtue of a vote, and for a while the boys …
review by . July 22, 2010
Every time I finish reading this book, I am left with a horrible sense of loss. Experiencing the loss of humanity that children experience leaves the reader with a scared sense of fear, fear that this could be true and occur way too easily in unsupervised civilization.      If you are seeking entertainment, this is not your book. If you are seeking a commentary on the internal evil within us all and the ease at which we may slip back to it, this is your book. Golding shows us …
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
Brilliant satire and deconstruction of society on a base level.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Such a dark book, but I really loved it. Such an interesting look at the birth of a society of young boys.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Rather gross at points. A dark depiction of human nature.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
i read this in school too. getting trapped on an island with a whole bunch of little kids must be veryyy very annoying. and the ending, is too ironic. it kind of dissapointed me that somebody showed up to rescue them at the end in the first place. none of the kids honestly deserved it.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
Morbidly fun to read. It's a great look into the workings of humanity through the eyes of a great writer
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
It's a shame that this book is foisted upon high school students who won't quite get it. Read again when you're older, and a lot more becomes clear (and, in its way, more frightening). Reality really does change with the perspective of years. (No, not opinion... REALITY changes. Trust me.)
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
One must always wonder, why did these boys result as such? So different from the Lost Boys in NeverNever Land?
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Everyone should read this, albeit the underlying theme is a bit disturbing.
About the reviewer
Josh Eklow ()
Ranked #646
I am a graduate student at the University of Iowa. My studies/interests are mostly art and media.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
josheklow
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

William Golding's classic tale about a group of English schoolboys who are plane-wrecked on a deserted island is just as chilling and relevant today as when it was first published in 1954. At first, the stranded boys cooperate, attempting to gather food, make shelters, and maintain signal fires. Overseeing their efforts are Ralph, "the boy with fair hair," and Piggy, Ralph's chubby, wisdom-dispensing sidekick whose thick spectacles come in handy for lighting fires. Although Ralph tries to impose order and delegate responsibility, there are many in their number who would rather swim, play, or hunt the island's wild pig population. Soon Ralph's rules are being ignored or challenged outright. His fiercest antagonist is Jack, the redheaded leader of the pig hunters, who manages to lure away many of the boys to join his band of painted savages. The situation deteriorates as the trappings of civilization continue to fall away, until Ralph discovers that instead of being hunters, he and Piggy have become the hunted: "He forgot his words, his hunger and thirst, and became fear; hopeless fear on flying feet." Golding's gripping novel explores the boundary between human reason and animal instinct, all on the brutal playing field of adolescent competition.--Jennifer Hubert--This text refers to an alternatePaperbackedition.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0140283331
ISBN-13: 978-0140283334
Author: William Golding
Genre: Literature & Fiction
Publisher: Penguin
Polls with this book
A Clockwork Orange

Coming of Age Novels

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists