|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Love You Forever » User review

Love You Forever

A book by Robert N. Munsch

< read all 14 reviews

Gut-wrenching children's book

  • Jul 7, 2010
Rating:
+5
This book is beyond emotional.  I dare any mother out there, or any child with an aging parent, to read this story and not have a lump in your throat.  I would recommend this story to just about anyone.  The story begins with a mother and her ornery toddler in what appears to be a suburb in America.  The book begins with the mother taking care of her son through the years.  Every night before bed the mother sneaks into the boy's room and takes him from his bed to rock him.  She then says to him " I'll love you forever.  I'll like you for always.  As long as I'm living, my baby you'll be."  This continues into his teenage years.  At the end of the book the boy is grown and the mother is elderly.  The boy is now taking care of his mother the way she cared for him as a child.  The man then has a baby girl whom he rocks at night and says the same phrase to.  The illustrations are simple yet effective.  I gave this book to a new mother at a baby shower.  She read it allowed when she opened the gift and there was not a dry eye in the crowd.  Should definitely be apart of your child's book collection.


 



 



 

Gut-wrenching children's book Gut-wrenching children's book

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
July 12, 2010
Aw, no wonder my friend loves reading this to his son so much! And his son loves it, too. I'll definitely have to read this. Thanks for sharing, Tricia!
 
1
More Love You Forever reviews
Quick Tip by . March 08, 2011
posted in The Family Room
This book was a family favorite in my house growing up, although likely for different reasons. What I got from the book was that no matter how messy and troublesome I was I would still be loved, what my mother got out of it was that things could be worse. LOL!
Quick Tip by . March 07, 2011
posted in Sweet on Books
This was one of my favorite books when I was a kid! I cried every single time that I read it!
review by . June 26, 2010
It can be difficult to remember how precious and quick even the most trying moments are when you are experiencing them.   As a mother of an active and challenging young boy, I can attest to how easy it can be to lose sight of the big picture and give in to feeling frustrated.  It is easy to remember how insignificant even the most harrowing tantrums are when I read this book and I know that one day, I will wish that my son was the Kindergartner who leaves his playroom a mess, instead …
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
read it to my little brother all the time, he loves it!
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
This is sure to make you cry, even as your little one laughs.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
My favorite book when I was younger
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
Cute insightful fun uplifting!
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Must have for new moms!
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
The only book that captures love, sadness, wonder and happiness all together.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
I got this book at the library to read to my two year old daughter,and I could barely get though the end because I was crying. It is so adorable.
About the reviewer
Tricia ()
Ranked #1524
   I love to read and watch movies. I have two dogs, two cats, and a wonderful fiance!!!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
tport17
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0920668364
ISBN-13: 978-0920668368
Author: Robert N. Munsch
Genre: Children's Books
Publisher: Firefly Books
Polls with this book
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see?

"Rate these Children's Books"

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists