|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Love in the Time of Cholera » User review

Love in the Time of Cholera

A book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

< read all 13 reviews

Somewhat sick :P

  • Sep 3, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+1
Its a very painful story. Yes i like the details and the writing of Marquez, but this whole story is almost like a fetish for sadness and love that has become more than an obsession. It is a love sick lifestyle of a man who worships what he cannot have.

I wasnt sorry that i read the book, but i somehow wanted more from Marquez.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
October 21, 2009
I don' think this is a chick's book nor is it a downer.....It is one of the greatest books of this century and also one of my favorite novels. Though I do recognize the fact that parts of this book was larborious to read with little fetish details, but overall, it is a love story that endures time and tests. The ending was a happy one, with seventy year old lovers making love on a boat sailing to nowhere....we have so much reality around us, I am quite happy to read a novel like this about undying love for eternity and dream of it on my spare time, instead of reading novel that's full of mistrust and betryals and commercialized love, that reflect our everyday reality!!!
 
October 01, 2009
I agree, despite all the hype, this book was a bit of a downer for me too. I too had higher hopes for Marquez. Was reading a while ago about his own favourite books and authors on Infloox, and while the list was impressive indeed, I didn't quite feel it reflected in his own writing, at least in this one book.
 
September 05, 2009
Hm, maybe it is a chick book? @lolododo27 and @shinjiblue both liked it. Are there other books by Marquez that you enjoyed more than this one?
September 05, 2009
Hundred Years of Solitude was great... :)
 
1
More Love in the Time of Cholera reviews
Quick Tip by . July 27, 2010
An exhilarating account of a love that lasts, and of a kind of fidelity that doesn't appear so.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Not my favorite Marquez book, but it was alright. It seemed a little slow to me.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This book is amazing!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
beautiful
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Marquez is the best writer of our time.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Very wordy. The message is very romantic, and the tale is good, however.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Loved this. Especially enjoy books about other cultures!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
pretty good
Quick Tip by . February 26, 2010
Timeless beauty, timeless love I got lost in this book and remained in a state of awe for days after reading it
review by . December 13, 2008
Love in the Time of Cholera may be one of the most captivating books I have ever read.  From start to finish, Gabriel Garcia Marquez uses the most beautiful turns of phrases ever printed on a page.  It tells the story of a complicated-but-subtle love triangle between a woman and two men; her husband, and the man she loved as a teenager.    The premise of the story goes that woman, Fermina Daza, rejects her youthful lover, Florentino Ariza and marries a young doctor, Juvenal Urbino, instead. …
About the reviewer
Tan Arcan ()
Ranked #996
Iam a Turkish citizen who has been living in United States for 16 years. Ihave a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Film from University of Central Florida. Just moved to Los Angeles. I like philosophy, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Tanefendi
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Tanefendi
About this book

Wiki

Love in the Time of Cholera (Spanish: ''El amor en los tiempos del cólera'', 1985) is a novel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez about a fifty-year love triangle between Fermina Daza, Florentino Ariza, and Doctor Juvenal Urbino set in the late 19th century and the first decades of the 20th century (roughly 1880 to 1930). The novel, a tale of unrequited love, explores the idea that suffering for love is a kind of nobility.
view wiki

Tags

Books, Fiction, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Gabriel Garcia Marquez Books

Details

Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Date Published: 1985

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

A Fine Balance

Oprahs Book Club 2000-2009

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists