|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Love in the Time of Cholera » User review

Love in the Time of Cholera

A book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

< read all 13 reviews

Not your typical love story...

  • May 19, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
This might be my favorite so far of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's novels. It's the language and his unique voice more so than the story itself that makes his work so enjoyable. In this particular case the storyline is a little far-fetched (fifty years of unrequited love?) but that only seems to add to its certain charm. What's a little suspension of reality in a great work of fiction?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Love in the Time of Cholera reviews
Quick Tip by . July 27, 2010
An exhilarating account of a love that lasts, and of a kind of fidelity that doesn't appear so.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Not my favorite Marquez book, but it was alright. It seemed a little slow to me.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This book is amazing!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
beautiful
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Marquez is the best writer of our time.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Very wordy. The message is very romantic, and the tale is good, however.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Loved this. Especially enjoy books about other cultures!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
pretty good
review by . September 03, 2009
Its a very painful story. Yes i like the details and the writing of Marquez, but this whole story is almost like a fetish for sadness and love that has become more than an obsession. It is a love sick lifestyle of a man who worships what he cannot have.       I wasnt sorry that i read the book, but i somehow wanted more from Marquez.
Quick Tip by . February 26, 2010
Timeless beauty, timeless love I got lost in this book and remained in a state of awe for days after reading it
About the reviewer
Sarinya ()
Ranked #139
I was once asked to make a list of random facts about me so... here's an excerpt of some things I'd like to share and other things I'd like to discover more about here at Lunch:    + … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
shinjiblue
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Love in the Time of Cholera (Spanish: ''El amor en los tiempos del cólera'', 1985) is a novel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez about a fifty-year love triangle between Fermina Daza, Florentino Ariza, and Doctor Juvenal Urbino set in the late 19th century and the first decades of the 20th century (roughly 1880 to 1930). The novel, a tale of unrequited love, explores the idea that suffering for love is a kind of nobility.
view wiki

Tags

Books, Fiction, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Gabriel Garcia Marquez Books

Details

Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Date Published: 1985

Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

A Fine Balance

Oprahs Book Club 2000-2009

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists