|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Matilda (book) » User review

Matilda

A book by Roald Dahl

< read all 37 reviews

Childhood favorite

  • Jul 3, 2010
Rating:
+4

Matilda is one of my favorite childhood stories that I have read at least a dozen times and still love today. Dahl is able to capture the mind of a child and create a fantastical story that captures not just your attention but your heart as well. You root for Matilda, you put yourself in Matilda's shoes, and you get lost in the world that he creates. 

I would make a cup of hot cocoa and curl up with pillows and a blanket in the corner of my room and read Matilda. Her love of books matched mine, and although I wasn't quite as young as her character in the story, I felt like I was just like her. Her courage and intelligence made me love her immediately and seeing her overcome all the obstacles in her path from happiness motivated me to pursue my own passions just as ardently. 

Aside from relating to Matilda, the story itself was just plain funny and engaging. You wish you could have her powers and you don't feel one ounce of remorse for Miss Trunchbull or Matilda's parents at the end. The characters are all exaggerated and in the extremes, but you still feel part of this world and empathize for the Matilda and root against her parents and Miss Trunchbull. I never get bored of reading this book even though I've read it over and over again. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
July 07, 2010
Great review, Nancy! This was one of my childhood favorites as well. Loved the movie, too! Thanks for sharing. I need to reread this :)
 
1
More Matilda (book) reviews
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
The screen version manages to be contemporary in feel and yet still keep the essences of Roald Dahl's Matilda. Delightful adventure for family viewing, a favorite with young girls.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
A touching and emotional tale of friendship and the hardships one face when growing up. Really amusing too.
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
Roald Dahl's endearing descriptions, make every work a splendid and cozy thing to dive into.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Adorable book! It's a simple read and very entertaining. I am reading it to my 5 yr old and she adores it!
review by . July 10, 2010
Matilda is great, I loved reading this when I was younger. Matilda is a very independent and imaginative little girl, and I felt like I could see part of myself in her. I recommend this book to kids who like fantasy books, but not necessarily adults although it is a very good story maybe for your children/niece/nephew/etc. The setting of the book is not really specific, but most of the events occur either at Matilda's house, her teacher Miss Honey's house, or at her school. The story is …
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
Roald Dahl is such a fantastic writer. The characters come alive in this book. great read :)
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Funny and a wonderful read
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
magical powers rock
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
My first daughter is being named after Matilda <333
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
I love Roald Dahl's books.
About the reviewer
Nancy Dang ()
Ranked #979
I love books, sports, and animals.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
litolady
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by litolady
About this book

Wiki


Matilda is an extraordinarily gifted four-year-old whose parentsa crass, dishonest used-car dealer and a self-centered, blowsy bingo addictregard her as "nothing more than a scab." Life with her beastly parents is bearable only because Matilda teaches herself to read, finds the public library, and discovers literature. Also, Matilda loves using her lively intelligence to perpetrate daring acts of revenge on her father. This pastime she further develops when she enrolls in Crunchem Hall Primary School, whose headmistress, Miss Trunchbull, is "a fierce tyrannical monster . . . ." Adults may cringe at Dahl's excesses in describing the cruel Miss Trunchbull, as well as his reliance on overextended characterization at the expense of plot development. Children, however, with their keenly developed sense of justice, will relish the absolutes of stupidity, greed, evil and might versus intelligence, courage and goodness. They also will sail happily through the contrived, implausible ending. Dahl's phenomenal popularity among children speaks for his breathless storytelling charms; his fans won't be disappointed by Matilda. Blake's droll pen-and-ink sketches extend the exaggerated humor. Ages 9-11.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0141301066
ISBN-13: 978-0141301068
Publisher: Puffin

Lists with this book
Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Favorite Roald Dahl Books

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists