|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Matilda (book) » User review

Matilda

A book by Roald Dahl

< read all 30 reviews

Excellent!

  • Jul 10, 2010
Rating:
+3
Matilda is great, I loved reading this when I was younger. Matilda is a very independent and imaginative little girl, and I felt like I could see part of myself in her. I recommend this book to kids who like fantasy books, but not necessarily adults although it is a very good story maybe for your children/niece/nephew/etc. The setting of the book is not really specific, but most of the events occur either at Matilda's house, her teacher Miss Honey's house, or at her school. The story is basically about a young girl who is extremely smart, and her teacher takes notice and wants to help her out, however the principal of the school is very callous and forces Matilda to stay in the class instead of advancing. Matilda is thus not stimulated enough in the classroom, and she soon befriends Miss Honey, her teacher, and the two go to Miss Honey's cottage for tea and conversation in the afternoons. Their friendship is eventually what helps Matilda toward the end of the novel, as you'll find out. The edition I read had some lovely illustrations placed here and there throughout the book. The movie is very different than the book. The omission of Miss Honey and Matilda's relationship is glaring, but the book essentially is the same as the movie, even though there are some very different events that occur in the movie that don't happen in the book.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Matilda (book) reviews
review by . July 03, 2010
Matilda is one of my favorite childhood stories that I have read at least a dozen times and still love today. Dahl is able to capture the mind of a child and create a fantastical story that captures not just your attention but your heart as well. You root for Matilda, you put yourself in Matilda's shoes, and you get lost in the world that he creates.       I would make a cup of hot cocoa and curl up with pillows and a blanket in the corner of my room and read Matilda. …
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
The screen version manages to be contemporary in feel and yet still keep the essences of Roald Dahl's Matilda. Delightful adventure for family viewing, a favorite with young girls.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
A touching and emotional tale of friendship and the hardships one face when growing up. Really amusing too.
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
Roald Dahl's endearing descriptions, make every work a splendid and cozy thing to dive into.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Adorable book! It's a simple read and very entertaining. I am reading it to my 5 yr old and she adores it!
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
Roald Dahl is such a fantastic writer. The characters come alive in this book. great read :)
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Funny and a wonderful read
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
magical powers rock
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
My first daughter is being named after Matilda <333
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
I love Roald Dahl's books.
About the reviewer
B. Nguyen ()
Ranked #1941
My favorite food is salmon.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Buster2150
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Buster2150
About this book

Wiki


Matilda is an extraordinarily gifted four-year-old whose parentsa crass, dishonest used-car dealer and a self-centered, blowsy bingo addictregard her as "nothing more than a scab." Life with her beastly parents is bearable only because Matilda teaches herself to read, finds the public library, and discovers literature. Also, Matilda loves using her lively intelligence to perpetrate daring acts of revenge on her father. This pastime she further develops when she enrolls in Crunchem Hall Primary School, whose headmistress, Miss Trunchbull, is "a fierce tyrannical monster . . . ." Adults may cringe at Dahl's excesses in describing the cruel Miss Trunchbull, as well as his reliance on overextended characterization at the expense of plot development. Children, however, with their keenly developed sense of justice, will relish the absolutes of stupidity, greed, evil and might versus intelligence, courage and goodness. They also will sail happily through the contrived, implausible ending. Dahl's phenomenal popularity among children speaks for his breathless storytelling charms; his fans won't be disappointed by Matilda. Blake's droll pen-and-ink sketches extend the exaggerated humor. Ages 9-11.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0141301066
ISBN-13: 978-0141301068
Publisher: Puffin

Lists with this book
Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Favorite Roald Dahl Books

by

First to Review

"Matilda"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists