|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by JosephDavis

  • Jul 12, 2010
I liked this book. It is an interesting look at the differences between the sexes. I should probably reread it, b/c I need to grasp more of the concepts.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Men Are from Mars, Women Are f... reviews
review by . September 08, 2009
posted in Inspirations
Mars & Venus
Ok, it's not chocolates nor is it a nightclub! You'd think it's sweet like chocolate or exciting as a club! Well, you are wrong... it's more like sweat and a lot of hard work involved!      Welcome to the world of relationships... can't live with them, can't live without them!   That's life, my parents would say.   That's no joke, I'd say.      The world of  romance is great until a  few months …
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Gray makes excellent points that bear up under scrutiny and in practice. Perhaps not the be-all and end-all, but I'll bet you that using his tips really will improve your communications with the opposite sex, and even in some same-sex relationships as well.
review by . May 24, 2010
   I began reading this book in an attempt to read a book that was non fiction and what I got  was a large dose of reality and some surprising facts as well.  This book is a well placed smack in the face for some women, especially since the author is male.      this book focuses on the basic facts like women are healers men are fixers and more. If you are Reading this book to find out the differences in men and women than this is the book for you. However, …
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
IT has a lot of great insights about men and women and relationships.
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Good read on communications
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
women may now understand men but unless a man reads it, its useless
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Usually I think theory satisfactorily precedes experience, for example if you're dealing with risky matters of physics like avoiding a child in the street or cutting a vegetable without drawing your own blood. But it's really impossible to conduct a human relationship rightly without fucking up five or so times. I mean, if you didn't learn from experience, what the hell do you expect to learn from a book?
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
How true and relevant
Quick Tip by . January 24, 2010
An excellent book about relationships and differences between the sexes which account for conflicts in relating & communicating. Must Read!
About the reviewer
Joseph Davis ()
Ranked #1593
I like to read all sorts of different topics. I like listening to books on tape or on CD while working or driving, but I also like to sit under the shade of a nice tree or chill at the beach and read … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
JosephDavis
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Published in May 1992, Men are from Mars & Women are from Venus is a book by John Gray offering many suggestions for improving men-women relationships in couples by understanding the communication style and emotional needs of the opposite gender. It spawned a series of follow-on books expanding on specific situations (see below).

The book, as suggested by the title, asserts the notion that men and women are as different as beings from other planets. Gray adopts this metaphor as the central theme of all his books and seminars, likening men and women to the classical Roman god Mars and goddess Venus as ideal types.

In contrast to some psychologists (and feminists) who emphasize similarities between the sexes, Gray writes almost exclusively about differences. Gray says that his "Martians" and "Venusians" are only stereotypes and cannot be applied blindly to individuals.

An example of the theories it offers is that women complain about problems because they want their problems to be acknowledged, while men complain about problems because they are asking for solutions. Other concepts in the book are the difference between women and men's point systems and how they react under stress. 
view wiki

Details

Author: John Gray
Genre: Communications, Family & Relationships, Hardcover, Social Psychology & Interactions, Interpersonal Relations, Love & Romance, Marriage, Marriage & Family

First to Review

"Mars & Venus"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists