|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Middlesex (book) » User review

Middlesex: A Novel

A book by Jeffrey Eugenides

< read all 22 reviews

My big, fat Greek family

  • Dec 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Cal Stephanides traces his family history back to 1922, when his grandparents were young and living in Asia Minor.  Their love was forbidden but undeniable and they married, keeping a terrible secret.  They immigrated to America, had children who in turn had children, and one of them was Cal who, thanks to his grandparents, was born with a unique anatomy. 

As the narrator, Cal paints a vivid and fascinating picture of his family, much like someone slowly turning the pages of a scrapbook, describing each photo in detail, interrupting his history occasionally to bring us up to date on his current situation.  His family experienced dramatic highs (the Turkish slaughter of Greeks, the Detroit riots) as well as ordinary days, and he describes them all with humor and matter-of-fact acceptance.

This is a very unusual and exceptionally well-written story.  I did object to the narrator being able to recount conversations and actions he couldn't possibly have known about and think the story should have been written in the third person, but I found it riveting and was sorry when it ended.  Highly recommended.
My big, fat Greek family My big, fat Greek family

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Middlesex (book) reviews
review by . June 30, 2010
I am convinced that Jeffrey Eugenides will be a name readers identify for generations to come.  I was impressed by his first novel, The Virgin Suicides, but Middlesex demonstrates an increased sense of the characters and truly keeps the reader in the grips of the plot.  The story of the main characters is compelling, while secondary characters who played parts in important historic events gave depth to a story that took place mostly in Detroit.     SPOILER ALERT- It is …
review by . June 25, 2010
This is an outstanding novel and a very worthy Pulitzer Prize winner. If you told me I'd enjoy a book about a hermaphrodite that finds their true sexual identity - not my kind of thing! But this is a very serious, well thought out, and comi-tragic novel about Cal. Calliope grew up thinking he was a girl until puberty came and oops! Actually not. But it's about much more than just that. The novel is epic in scope centering on the history of Calliope's family and exactly how it came …
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Depressing
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Well written story about a subject often ignored.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Very interesting book! Totally outside of what I normally read or expected.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
Well crafted and on point.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
one of my favorite books of all time. vast, sweeping -- i still am amazed by how intuitively eugenides writes as a female protagonist
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
this book is so good that when i first read it, i was convinced of my OWN hermaphroditism although i was born and identify as a female.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
This is one of the most original books I have ever read,it pulls you in with the very first line,and keeps you there until the end.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
awesome story
About the reviewer
About this book

Wiki

Middlesex is a novel by Jeffrey Eugenides. It was published in 2002 and won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2003.

The narrator and protagonist, Calliope Stephanides (later called "Cal"), an intersexed person of Greek descent, has 5-alpha-reductase deficiency. The bulk of the novel is devoted to telling his coming-of-age story growing up in Detroit, Michigan in the late 20th century. This story, however, is intertwined with elements of a family saga, meditations on the era's zeitgeist and bits of contemporary history.

The novel begins with the narrator, aged 41, deciding to tell the story of his recessive gene that caused him to be born Calliope and later to become Cal. The narration periodically returns to the frame story of present-day Cal, who is bearded, male and interested in women, foreshadowing the personal revelations of Callie.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0312427735 0374199698
ISBN-13: 978-0312427733 9780374199692
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Genre: Literature & Fiction
Publisher: Farrar, Straus, Giroux
Date Published: 2002
Format: Book : Fiction; English
Polls with this book
A Fine Balance

Oprahs Book Club 2000-2009

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists