|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Misery (book) » User review

Misery

A book by Stephen King.

< read all 38 reviews

One of My Favorite King Novels!

  • May 14, 2009
Rating:
+5
This book is one of the scariest books I have read by King. Scary because it is something that could happen in real life. A famous writer (Paul) of women's romance novels is injured in a car accident and kidnapped by a crazed fan (Annie). Annie will let Paul go on the condition that he resurrerect a popular character (Misery) that he killed off in one of his novels.

Sounds easy, except that Paul must make it totally convincing (not just a dream like Bobby Ewing) or he will suffer excrutiating consequences. Annie makes for one of the most horrifying jailers. Someone that is very demanding and will go off the deep end for any little thing.

Loved this book through and through. One possible drawback to some readers may be that King presents many pages from the Misery transcript that Paul was prepares. If you are not a romance novel fan you could find those parts boring. I rather liked them.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Misery (book) reviews
review by . August 29, 2009
There are many Stephen King books I enjoy, but very few of them actually scare me.  The fear bone, like the funny bone, is located in different places on different people.  I'm not too frightened by what seems overly supernatural.  Yet one of King's gifts is making things seem real.  He made us want to believe there were vampires in a town called 'Salem's Lot.  Or that the creepy corridors of the Overlook Hotel were really haunted.  We sort of feel as if King has …
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
Desperation and, well, misery, fill this book. In a good way, though. One of the few King novels that didn't seem to run out of steam in the latter half, Misery is a compelling and terrifying read.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Typical Stephen King book. Will scare the crap out of you.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Stephen King here takes an incredible idea for a book, and ruins the story with some terrible writing. He completely undercuts what could have been some of the best scenes by having the main character simply reminisce about them. I don't know what happened to Stephen King, but his usual solid narration and great characters are gone from this one.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I love Stephen King, and this is one of his best. Well written, good storyline.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
This was my favorite Stephen King novel that I read. It was intense and gave me nightmares as a teen.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
Good if you like horror without too much of the gore.. more of a suspense
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
The book is even scarier than the move with Kathy Bates.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
good scare book..be afraid of fans
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Powerful and frightening, and a surprising look into how Stephen King views some of his fans.
About the reviewer

Ranked #9
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

In  Misery(1987), as inThe Shining (1977), a writer is trapped in an evil house during a Colorado winter. Each novel bristles with claustrophobia, stinging insects, and the threat of a lethal explosion. Each is about a writer faced with the dominating monster of his unpredictable muse.

Paul Sheldon, the hero of Misery, sees himself as a caged parrot who must return to Africa in order to be free. Thus, in the novel within a novel, the romance novel that his mad captor-nurse, Annie Wilkes, forces him to write, he goes to Africa--a mysterious continent that evokes for him the frightening, implacable solidity of a woman's (Annie's) body. The manuscript fragments he produces tell of a great Bee Goddess, an African queen reminiscent of H. Rider Haggard's She.

He hates her, he fears her, he wants to kill her; but all the same he needs her power. Annie Wilkes literally breathes life into him.

Misery touches on several large themes: the state of possession by an evil being, the idea that art is an act in which the artist willingly becomes captive, the tortured condition of being a writer, and the fears attendant to becoming a "brand-name" bestselling author with legions of zealous fans. And yet it's a tight, highly resonant echo chamber of a book--one of King's shortest, and best novels ever. --Fiona Webster

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0451169522
ISBN-13: 978-0451169525
Author: Stephen King
Genre: Literature & Fiction
Publisher: Signet
Polls with this book
'Salem's Lot

Best Stephen King Books

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists