|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Naked » User review

984EB388EDBEB9F3CB6A1CF3FEC90DC

A book by David Sedaris

< read all 21 reviews

Always a Pleasure

  • Jun 2, 2010
Rating:
+5
This is yet another book of short stories by the humorist David Sedaris, and I have to say it is one of my favorites since I have read all of them. But I have reread this one at least 3 times.

This collection offers more stories about the author's family than his other books, including his sarcastic parents, who I absolutely love. There are tales about his jobs at a mental hospital, washing dishes in a restaurant, making clocks and being a live-in caretaker at a dorm for handicapped students.

Family stories include a sister's wedding, himself coming out of the closet to himself, reading pornography, doing drugs in college and the deaths of his grandmother and mother, which are touching, at least to me.

But don't be deceived, this book is not about sadness, sex or death. In true Sedaris style, it is really hilarious satire yet touching and well worth reading. This is one of the few books that will remain on my bookshelf never to be traded in at the used book store!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
More Naked reviews
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
absolute genius
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Funny and honest
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Great book!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Love this book. David is the man when it comes to whit, and satire.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Not Sedaris's best, but a humorous read.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I remember sitting in public transportation in Istanbul reading about David sitting in public transportation in France and laughing out loud.
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
Absolutely hysterical book by Sedaris. The stories are obscure, quirky and very entertaining.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Good Book, Great Story, Interesting, catchy, gets you involved every chapter
review by . May 09, 2008
Pros: Naked will make you laugh out loud.     Cons: There are some adult situations that would not be recommended for the younger reader.     The Bottom Line: I would suggest this for anyone who appreciates irony and likes to laugh.     This is almost as funny as my friend who is a gay blind mortician. . .      Parents can leave us with a lot of baggage. Based on the tales told by David Sedaris, none are more talented …
review by . January 30, 2008
David Sedaris is a very funny writer and this is one of his better collections. I highly recommend it. Though my favorite among his books is still the gut-splitting "Me Talk Pretty One Day", this collection comes fairly close to matching it. Prepare to laugh hysterically throughout.    Archived episodes of the radio program, This American Life, contain portions where Sedaris reads some of the stories in these collections, and they are really well worth tracking down and listening to.
About the reviewer
Nita ()
Ranked #697
Member Since: Jun 2, 2010
Last Login: Jun 24, 2010 12:45 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
nitahughes
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

essays by American humorist David Sedaris. The book details Sedaris’ life, from his unusual upbringing in the suburbs of Raleigh, North Carolina, to his booze-and-drug-infested college years, to his Kerouacian wandering as a young adult. The book became a best-seller and was acclaimed for its wit, dark humor and irreverent tackling of tragic events, including the death of Sedaris’ mother. Prior to publication, several of the essays were read by the author on the NPR program This American Life.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0316777730 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780316777735 (pbk.)
Author: David Sedaris
Genre: Essays, Humor
Publisher: Back Bay Books
First to Review

"Truly hilarious."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists