|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Nancy Drew » User review

Nancy Drew

A fictional young amateur detective in various mystery series for children and teens.

< read all 20 reviews

The Nancy Drew Series: Timeless

  • Jun 11, 2010
Rating:
+5
I discovered the world of "River Heights" when I was about 14 years old - that was when sets of the books were flying off of the shelves at Sams Club and Costco.

I was an avid reader, a self-professed tomboy, and therefore the harrowing adventures that Nancy always found herself in vastly appealed to my independent nature.

But as an older, "more mature" adult now, (whoo, 21, that's getting up there!) I have a much deeper appreciation for this series and the multiple writers behind Nancy.

Cons:
I can give no cons for these books, save that I wish there more, and written for an older audience. (I also wish they could make a couple decent movies!)

But the pros are as follows.

Pros:
Nancy embodies the perfect 18 year-old, and every teen girl should strive to emulate the character and integrity that the character of Nancy Drew possesses.
Nancy is smart, level-headed, not given to frivolity and foolishness, knows exactly how to have a good time, is not afraid to be cautious when necessary, gives credit and respect where it is due, honors the elderly, is completely honest and up-front with the law, holds high regard for authority, will not tolerate abuse in any form, is an excellent friend, does dress or behave unbecomingly, and is not given to flirtatious actions.

Role models like Nancy simply do not exist in society any more. The likes of Lindsey Lohan, Megan Fox, Dakota Fanning, the Olsen twins, and so many, many others leaves even the eldest among us forgetful of a society that once was dignified, fun-loving, and safe.

I didn't realize at the age of 14 what a remarkable treasure trove I had in my hands, but now I am incredibly grateful to the authors under the pseudonym of "Carolyn Keene" who outstandingly have shaped the minds and lives of so many grateful girls.

Five stars out of five. Hands down.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
29
Well-Organized
29
Post a Comment
December 05, 2011
I concur wholeheartedly.
 
July 08, 2011
Very fun review. I was a huge fan of both Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys series!
 
March 21, 2011
Believe it or not, I was assigned to read one of these "Nancy Drew Mysteries" back in junior high. I was also assigned to read a "Hardy Boys" one, as well. Amazing how these books have hung on thru the years.
 
June 15, 2010
I love Nancy Drew, too! I agree with you on the pros and the cons, I totally wished I was as cool as Nancy Drew :P I may have graduated to Agatha Christie and reading about true crimes, but Nancy Drew still has a soft spot in my heart. Great review! :)
 
June 14, 2010
I read about 35 of these books the summer after 8th grade. Great Books!!
 
June 14, 2010
Great review! Thinking about those great Nancy Drew mysteries definitely makes me smile. And you're right she is a great role model. I hope kids still read this series today, it was certainly one of my favorites. I'm sharing your review on Twitter so that others can enjoy it too:0)
 
June 14, 2010
I enjoyed both the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew when I was a young boy. I should probably try one again even if it's only to reminisce. Nice review.
June 24, 2010
I did, as well! After there were no more left in the N.D. series, I began the Hardy Boys. They were as much, if not more fun than Nancy!
June 25, 2010
I was recently reminded of another series from the same era that I loved! Did you every try Tom Swift?
June 27, 2010
No, I haven't! I'll have to look that up though - sounds awesome!
 
1
More Nancy Drew reviews
review by . June 11, 2010
Readers are introduced to an inquisitive, adventurous girl with which any inquisitive, armchair adventuress can identify.      The series liberates the minds of girls especially who are ready to break out of the stereotypes they have been taught so fare.      Solving puzzles, even those in the most obscure settings, comes naturally to the inquisitive, so Nancy Drew fits right into the imagination.      By today's standards, Nancy and …
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Read all these as a teenager, was fascinated by Nancy Drew...now it makes mystery movies no challenge to figure out 'who done it'...
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
What young girl can't like Nancy Drew? I am glad to see these books making a comeback.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
HUGE Nancy Drew fan growing up. Might have contributed to my career in competitive intelligence.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
it was fun and very good when I was little
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
older book but its a mystery thats really good
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Read all of these as a young adult
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Never liked them, even as a kid, even when I went through my detective novel phase. More than half of them are ghost written, BTW.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
I honestly didn't even like these books as a child. But then again, I still don't have any kind of affection for the mystery genre. This was likely my only issue with this series of books, but I haven't reread them, so I can't say for sure.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Loved these! So did my mom!
About the reviewer
A.Kraft ()
Ranked #253
I love Jesus, salvation, my family, writing, and my photography and design.   In that order.   And I can't wait to tell you about my life.   Just ask me.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
1001words
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Nancy Drew is a fictional young amateur detective in various mystery series for children and teens. Created by Edward Stratemeyer, founder of the Stratemeyer Syndicate book packaging firm, the character first appeared in 1930. The books have been ghostwritten by a number of authors and are published under the collective pseudonym Carolyn Keene.

Over the decades the character has evolved in response to changes in American culture and tastes. The books were extensively revised, beginning in 1959, largely to eliminate racist stereotypes, with arguable success. Many scholars agree that in the revision process, the heroine's original, outspoken character was toned down and made more docile, conventional, and demure. In the 1980s a new series was created, the Nancy Drew Files, which featured an older and more professional Nancy as well as romantic plots. In 2004 the original Nancy Drew Mystery Stories series, begun in 1930, was ended and a new series, Girl Detective, was launched, with an updated version of the character who drives a hybrid electric vehicle and uses a cell phone. Illustrations of the character have also evolved over time, from portrayals of a fearless, active young woman to a fearful or passive one.

Through all these changes, the character has proved continuously popular worldwide: at least 80 million copies of the books have been sold, and the books have been translated into over two dozen languages. Nancy Drew has featured in five films, two television ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists