|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Next: A Novel » User review

Next: A Novel

A book by James Hynes

< read all 4 reviews

I was primarily thinking, "What's next?"

  • Feb 23, 2011
  • by
Rating:
-1
Hynes’s latest follows in the tradition of Mrs. Dalloway and Ulysses in that the novel relates the thoughts and actions of its protagonist through the course of a day. On this day, Kevin takes a trip from Ann Arbor, Michigan to Austin, Texas for a job interview. He begins the novel on the jet that takes him from a midwest of “native decency” to a much more ethnically diverse Texas.

Hynes, unfortunately, does not write with the bravura of a Woolf or Roth. He does not bring anything new to the subject of horny aging men. Kevin wanders Austin breaking down physically and emotionally, yet tenaciously aroused. This is Philip Roth's Kapesh without the same incisive self-awareness. Our ostensibly third-person narrator does not close the gap. What that leaves us is with are some well-told anecdotes that do little besides get us to the big plot development, the twist that is supposed to inflate the mundane with meaning. The surprise feels inauthentic. The ending rather lame. Kevin’s sudden insight is less an epiphany than a momentary deviation. The ruts of his mind are too well-trod for Kevin not to slip back into them if given the chance. In the end, Kevin is mostly pathetic.


It has some literary ambition, but lacks what it takes to make it to the next level.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More Next: A Novel reviews
review by . May 26, 2010
Kevin Quinn will experience, three times the day this novel takes place, the sensation "as the ground rushes up to meet him." How he responds depends on where in Austin, Texas, circumstances place him. Some he's planned for, most he hasn't. For, he wanders, similar to another part-Irish fictional walker in another city a century before on another day the middle of June, lured by the wonder and hubbub of what he sees.     Michigan-born James Hynes, now living in Austin, conveys-- …
review by . April 14, 2010
I've always enjoyed James Hynes as an author who writes well, can deliver a good zinger with panache, shares my bemused exasperation at the follies of academic life, and - most importantly - spins a good tale. Earlier books of his that I've read had several aspects in common - a definite sympathy for the underdog, the skewering of those in power in a plot involving some element of the fantastic (zombies, magic powers, the occult, ancient druidic ritual).    In "Next", Hynes forgoes …
review by . March 14, 2010
This book stands out as one of the most inventive, engrossing, and entertaining books that I have read in the past year. The novel grabbed my attention on the first page and held me throughout, not as a cliffhanger, but simply as the ruminations of one Kevin , the main character, an American ubermensch, as he wanders around a new city, following unknown women, many of whom excite his desire, reviewing his life, ruminating over his relationships, trying to decide where life will take him next. He …
About the reviewer
Kerry Hubers ()
Ranked #1024
I blog at http://hungrylikethewoolf.wordpress.com
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KerryHLW
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Starred Review. In this funny, surprising, and sobering novel, Hynes (Kings of Infinite Space) follows Kevin Quinn, who has flown to Austin, Tex., for a job interview at the height of a terrorism scare. Kevin, an editor at the University of Michigan, has grown as frustrated by academic politics as he is by his relationship with his shallow girlfriend. On the flight, he sits next to Kelly, a beautiful and enigmatic young woman who reminds him of a great lost love of his youth. With time to kill before his interview, Kevin spends the first half of the novel surreptitiously following Kelly around Austin while reminiscing about his misspent youth and failed relationships. The casual but persistent self-absorption of Kevin's reveries is both funny and off-putting, and when contrasted with the threat of terrorism and his shadowing of the young woman, gives the novel a creepy energy that fully kicks in after Kevin is knocked unconscious, and Hynes pushes the plot into unchartered territory. The final 50 pages are unlike anything in the recent literature of our response to terrorism—a tour de force of people ennobled in the face of random horror.(Mar.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0316051926
ISBN-13: 978-0316051927
Author: James Hynes
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Reagan Arthur Books
Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists