|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Night World No. 1: Secret Vampire; Daughters of Darkness; Spellbinder » User review

Enjoyable Read

  • Jul 21, 2010
Rating:
+4

Despite many arguments to the contrary, this book was a great read. At least for me it was. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Many argue that with her books, L.J. Smith is trying to copy the Twilight series, however, most of her books were released long before Stephanie Meyer started writing her series. For example, this one was released in 1996 and the first book of her Vampire Diaries series was released in 1990. Although the endings are somewhat predictable and you can always tell who is going to end up together, that was okay with me, but I guess it all depends on your personal style.
One thing that I really enjoyed was how the characters were tied together throughout the three stories in this book. I also love romance and the supernatural (as long as it doesn't get too crazy). Those two elements pretty much do it for me with most books I read. I'll admit that Smith's stories are a little weird, but I guess I kinda like that stuff.
I think L.J. Smith is very creative and imaginative with her characters and elements and I have just really liked all the books I have read by her. I have volume 2 of this series checked out from the library and I am excited to start reading it. If you liked this book, The Vampire Diaries series, also by L.J. Smith, is my recommendation for you.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
July 21, 2010
Nice review! I'm on the other side of the spectrum, but I do agree that I liked how all the characters were tied together in the first 3 books. I do think that the argument is reversed, however, in regards to her and Meyer. People argue that Meyer copied Smith's stories because Smith was her predecessor. I heard that there was a lawsuit about it, but that it got resolved before it went to court.
 
1
More Night World No. 1: Secret Vamp... reviews
review by . June 19, 2010
Only Slightly Better than the Twilight Saga
GENERAL OVERVIEW       At first glance, this book appeared daunting because of its sheer length, 729 pages, and the fact that it's comprised of three novels in one. Once I started reading "Secret Vampire," I discovered that this was going to be a quick and rather boring read. It was similar to Twilight, although it should be noted that the original printing predated Meyer's series. The characters were flat and undeveloped making it difficult to relate …
review by . June 22, 2010
Vampires, werewolves, witches, shape shifters -- they live among us without our knowledge. Night World is their secret society, a secret society with very strict rules. And falling in love breaks all the laws of the Night World. In Secret Vampire, Poppy thought the summer would last forever. Then she was diagnosed with terminal cancer. Now Poppy's only hope for survival is James, her friend and secret love. A vampire in the Night World, James can make Poppy immortal. But first they both …
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
The idea behind this was good but it has been difficult for me to keep up with. The first novel in the book felt very familiar. I just can't bring myself to read the rest of this book. i give it a 1 for effort.
review by . July 13, 2008
Welcome to the Night World, a treacherous and strict society of Earth's darker species--vampires, witches, shape shifters. There are two rules that must never be forgotten...human knowledge of the Night World is strictly forbidden, and a member of the Night World must never fall in love with a human. Both are punishable by death, and both are broken in L.J. Smith's riveting collection of novels.    When Poppy finds that she has pancreatic cancer, she is devastated that her life …
About the reviewer

Ranked #897
Member Since: Jul 21, 2010
Last Login: Jul 23, 2010 03:55 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
smile247
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by smile247
About this book

Wiki

Vampires, werewolves, witches, shapeshifters -- they live among us without our knowledge. Night World is their secret society, a secret society with very strict rules. And falling in love breaks all the laws of the Night World.

In Secret Vampire, Poppy thought the summer would last forever. Then she was diagnosed with terminal cancer. Now Poppy's only hope for survival is James, her friend and secret love. A vampire in the Night World, James can make Poppy immortal. But first they both must risk everything to go against the laws of Night World.

Fugitives from Night World, three vampire sisters leave their isolated home to live among humans in Daughters of Darkness. Their brother, Ash, is sent to bring the girls back, but he falls in love with their beautiful friend.

Two witch cousins fight over their high school crush. It's a battle between black magic and white magic in Spellbinder.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1416974504
ISBN-13: 978-1416974505
Author: L.J. Smith
Genre: Teens, Children's Books
Publisher: Simon Pulse
First to Review

"The Compulsive Reader's Reviews"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists