|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Nights in Rodanthe » User review

Nights in Rodanthe

Nicholas Sparks tale of romance between two strangers who meet by chance

< read all 3 reviews

Grumpy old Gere

  • Feb 24, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Two emotionally-impaired people connect at a Bed & Breakfast on a beach in Rodanthe
2. That's about it

Not even the ever-gorgeous Richard Gere or the reliable Diane Lane can make this sappy romance story a winner. Add Academy Award nominee Viola Davis and Emmy nominee Christopher Meloni, and you still don't have anything to write home about. Too bad.

Gere plays Dr. Paul Flanner, a gruff surgeon who put his career above everything else. Lane plays Adrienne Willis, a mother of two estranged from her husband (Meloni). As luck would have it, the same day she agrees to hotel-sit for her best friend Jean (Davis), her husband decides that it's time to mend fences.

Off to Rodanthe she goes, to discover that there's only one guest arriving, and you can easily guess who that is. Dr. Flanner is actually in Rodanthe on business, and has plans for a long trip afterwards. The plot also takes a trip around this point.

This bittersweet Harlequin-type romance may have you reaching for a hanky from time to time, but that's due to the performance of the stars rather than the plot. Recommended for softies, fans of the delectable Gere, and incurable romantics.



Dr. Paul Flanner: We all make choices, Adrienne. You chose that life, you chose that man. Do you even remember who you really are anymore?


Amanda Richards, February 23, 2009

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
February 25, 2009
i didn't see this movie. it looks beyond cheesy. not even a chick-flick. an old-person flick. did Gere find that missing gerbil in this film?
 
February 25, 2009
This cliche-ridden story is typical of Nicholas Sparks' writing. Though, I did really enjoy The Notebook. It's funny, but based upon your review I would have thought that you'd give this film a 2 for a rating rather than a 3.
 
February 24, 2009
If it's supposed to be funny, then I seem to have misplaced my funny bone
 
1
More Nights in Rodanthe reviews
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
Nights in Rodanthe lacks the punch and power of some of Sparks earlier novels. It's a short novel, but it would probably have worked better as short story or novella. There are some powerful, well-written scenes throughout, but they get lost a little in the telling. The end is especially powerful. Overall a thumbs up for this story of love and loss by Sparks.
Quick Tip by . June 09, 2010
Its a good book. ALthough its not my favorite nicholas sparks book. definitely worth reading though :)
About the reviewer
Amanda Richards ()
Ranked #39
I write reviews for a hobby. Most of my reviews are short and to the point, on account of my short attention span. I try to make my reviews both informative and entertaining, and sometimes I succeed. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
arichards
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Nights in Rodanthe is a 2008 American/Australian film adaptation of the novel with the same name by Nicholas Sparks. The film stars Richard Gere and Diane Lane in their third screen collaboration after 2002's Unfaithful and The Cotton Club. The film is rated PG-13 by the MPAA for "some sensuality" and was released on September 26, 2008. It was filmed in the small seaside village of Rodanthe, the northernmost village of the inhabited areas of Hatteras Island as well as Carolina Beach, North Carolina.
view wiki

Details

Author: Nicholas Sparks
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Date Published: July 1, 2003

First to Review

"Grumpy old Gere"
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists