|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » PS, I Love You » User review

Read with a box of tissues!! You'll be crying oceans!!

  • Jun 22, 2010
Rating:
+5

Years before the movie adaptation was made my sister had picked up this book and was raving about it to me... insisting I had to read it! She was telling me how emotional it was and how she was bawling reading this book. Yeah. That did not sell me on it! *laugh* but years later, still before the movie was made I found it cheap in a used book store and figured why not. I'm so glad I gave in a read it! Yes, its emotional. Yes, unless you are a rock you will be sobbing like a baby at this amazing debut novel by an author who was only 21 when this book was written!

High School sweethearts and soul mates; Holly and Gerry are each others lives. As a joke they start making a list of all the things Gerry would have to remind Holly of if he was no longer there. Of course at the time one always imagines ages in the future when old and gray. Unexpectedly tragedy strikes and the heartwarming list is brought to life in letters mailed to Holly resulting in sad, sometimes silly or surprising situations!

I was so moved by the characters depth of emotions and feelings... Love is such an overwhelming feeling magnified by the characters grief. As a fan of Gerard Butler, I eagerly waited for the movie to be released. My sister and I saw it together, of course we cried! It was not nearly as good as the book but that I believe is not to the fault of the director or actors but losing the powerful medium of using the book as the letters... it is a tangible thing for the audience to be physically reading along with Holly every time she gets a new letter!

Read with a box of tissues!! You'll be crying oceans!! Read with a box of tissues!! You'll be crying oceans!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
June 24, 2010
This is a book I've been interested in reading for a while. I'll have to remember to check it out someday soon before viewing the film. Thanks for the write-up!
June 24, 2010
Please let me know what you think about the book! *smile*
June 24, 2010
Will do. I always write reviews on what I read even if I can be slow getting them out on the web, lol!
June 24, 2010
Looking forward to it whenever! *smile*
June 28, 2010
Cools! Feel free to read some of my other book reviews I have floating around the site. The newest ones I'm writing will include two more about "Coraline," "Peony in Love" by Lisa See, and a J.R. Ward book. I've finished quite a few ones, but I'm super slow with write-ups! LOL!
 
June 24, 2010
I did not know that the movie was based on a book! I'm a sap, so I'll have to check it out. Thanks for the tip on tissues ;)
June 24, 2010
I didn't expect to be so overwhelmed by my emotions so I was not prepared and had to stop reading to actually get tissues! Enjoy the book!!
June 24, 2010
Wow, movies -- yes, but books -- no, at least not yet, but we'll see! Thanks, lady! :)
 
1
More PS, I Love You reviews
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Cried buckets when I read this book. There is a reason it was made into a movie.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Sad, romantic story!
About the reviewer
Tori Bat! ()
Ranked #403
I am a quirky girl making my awkward way through life. Sometimes stumbling or stuck along the way but always looking for things to make me smile and laugh. I don't want to grow up ~although when I … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Tori_Bat
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


Ahern, the mediagenic 22-year-old daughter of Ireland's prime minister, debuts with a sweet, sentimental tale of a young widow's trials and triumphs in the year after her husband's death. Soul mates Holly and Gerry married in their early 20s; when Gerry dies of brain cancer at 30, Holly is utterly bereft. But Gerry has a final gift: a series of letters, which Holly is to open on the first of each month from March to New Year's, and which will guide her on her journey from grief. Gerry correctly predicts that Holly will not have gone through his belongings by June, found a new job by September or considered falling in love again by December, but with his posthumous epistolary encouragement she does all those things. She also enters a karaoke contest, takes a beach vacation and dances at a holiday ball she'd always attended with Gerry. The months pass as close friends help prop Holly up; around her, a marriage falls apart, a couple gets engaged and a friend announces her pregnancy. Within her tight-knit family, Holly's youngest brother makes a revealing film of her birthday party, her elder brothers change places in her allegiance and her parents take in one stray grown child after another for stays short and long. Ahern's speed (she wrote the book in three months) and her youth do show-the wisdom in evidence owes much to Nicholas Sparks and Sophie Kinsella-and her prose is pedestrian. She boasts a natural storytelling talent, however, resulting in ...
view wiki

Tags

Details

ISBN-10: 1401300901
ISBN-13: 978-1401300906
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Publisher: Hyperion; 1 edition (March 31, 2009)
Date Published: February 4, 2004
Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists