|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Pride and Prejudice and Zombies » User review

A book originally written by Jane Austen and adapted by Seth Grahame-Smith

< read all 22 reviews

Disappointing Novel, Interesting Premise

  • Jun 15, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
Here's a disclaimer: I've never read Jane Austen, nor have I ever seen one of the numerous movies and television programs based on her work. I admit to not even being attracted to her genre.

Another disclaimer: I'm not really that into zombies, but I am a huge fan of "World War Z" (it's ranks as one of my favorite novels of all time). Having said this, I don't consider myself an expert on zombie fiction, which is currently all the rage of late ("Breathers," anyone? (For the record: another novel I quite enjoyed)).

"Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" is disappointing, but intriguing at the same time. It's a mashup of a popular novel in the public domain, and that's its weakness. It's a gimmick. It's meant to amuse you on the surface ("oh look, a zombie/ninja mashup!"), but that's pretty much about it. The gimmick ran its gamut rather quickly for me, and I very quickly became bored with what I was reading, which was pretty much due to the Austen material.

I certainly hope that mashups with public domain novels continue. I find this to be an interesting premise, and look forward to seeing what other mashup artists come up with. "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" simply wasn't the mashup for me.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Pride and Prejudice and Zombie... reviews
review by . July 09, 2010
I tried my best to appreciate Jane Austen.  I was an English major in college, after all; it is practically a requirement for graduation.  I took a seminar, I read the cannon cover to cover, the only book I liked was Mansfield Park because of the underlying allusions to female slavery. My modern  ideals placed Elizabeth Bennet so far removed from myself that I could not fall in love with what has been called one of the best romance novels of all time.  It was just not happening, …
review by . June 25, 2010
Who Knew Zombies and Austen Could Be So Hilarious?
I have been an Austen fan since I was a youngster. Never, in all my wildest dreams, did I imagine that someone would someday mix the living dead with Austen's literature. As I read through this book, I was astounded by the level of humour buried within the original text that was enhanced by the modern insertions. I laughed out loud again and again.      I highly recommend this novel for Austen lovers or anyone who is looking for a good chuckle. Or for anyone who loves zombies …
review by . July 12, 2010
     I had never read Jane Austin.  My husband made me read Bronte (and how does a crazy guy in a moor rate a love story anyway/), but never the Lady Jane.  When I read the title Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I realized it was time to break down and see what the fuss was about.      It was suggested to me that I read both Pride and Prejudice and the Zombie version at the same time.  I decided to go with the original first and work my way over …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
This is the closest I've came to reading Jane Austin so can't comment on the original story. However it does seem to lend itself to the inclusion of the unmentionable zombies very well. It's almost as if Jane Austin perceived that one day her book would be adapted and left the story open to zombies.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
What ajoke. Simpley disgusting. Why would someone destroy a perfectly written classic?
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Not nearly as fun or well-written as I'd hoped. I love both the original book AND zombie pop culture, but this just doesn't do justice to either.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
If you haven't read the original, much of the humor of this book will not be the same! I'm not a zombie lover but I found this book quite entertaining.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
ok, not great - better than the old plain version!
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
Most people say 'take it lightly' or 'this is just for laughs' and tell you to read this book. The honest truth is though, it's shallow. The only depth or creativity in the book comes from rewriting Jane Austin. It's a pathetic attempt at comedy from one who is incapable of actually writing a whole novel.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
I love Jane Austen. And I thought this would be a fun read. But I just couldn't get into it. I'd recently reread Pride & Prejudice, and it just felt like I was reading it again, with zombie bits thrown in random places. Which is exactly what it was. It was a cute idea, but it didn't keep my attention for the length of the whole book, so I just gave up.
About the reviewer

Ranked #1255
Member Since: Apr 12, 2009
Last Login: Sep 8, 2009 09:45 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
missed
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

Author: Jane Austen, Seth Grahame-Smith

Lists with this book
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists