|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Pride and Prejudice and Zombies » User review

A book originally written by Jane Austen and adapted by Seth Grahame-Smith

< read all 22 reviews

Who Knew Zombies and Austen Could Be So Hilarious?

  • Jun 25, 2010
Rating:
+5
I have been an Austen fan since I was a youngster. Never, in all my wildest dreams, did I imagine that someone would someday mix the living dead with Austen's literature. As I read through this book, I was astounded by the level of humour buried within the original text that was enhanced by the modern insertions. I laughed out loud again and again.


I highly recommend this novel for Austen lovers or anyone who is looking for a good chuckle. Or for anyone who loves zombies eating yummy brains. (Apparently, Mr. Darcy has a very good brain desired far and wide among the zombies.)

The love story between Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth is still intact, but it is further complicated by the fact that he was schooled in the Japanese tradition while the Bennet sisters, under their father's watchful eyes, were schooled in the seemingly less-prominent Chinese style.

A major bonus is the handful of illustrations inserted into the chapters. There is a particularly hilarious one depicting a rather dreadful wedding.

All-in-all, this book is worth the while to read. Anyone who is looking for an Austen fix will surely be satisfied, as will anyone in search of enticing zombie literature.

 

Who Knew Zombies and Austen Could Be So Hilarious?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
July 09, 2010
Funny, because although Austen was a great writer, she was also a hopeless romantic and histrionic who never married and her prose is just an elevated prose of the modern junk romance novel.
 
July 09, 2010
Funny, because although Austen was a great writer, she was also a hopeless romantic and histrionic who never married and her prose is just an elevated prose of the modern junk romance novel.
 
June 30, 2010
I'm not sure how I feel about this concept yet, lol, but I do plan to read one of these types of books. There's quite a few to select from now, but this one sounds the most interesting. :)
 
June 25, 2010
I love zombies so this is for me!! Thanks for the review!
June 25, 2010
You're welcome!
 
1
More Pride and Prejudice and Zombie... reviews
review by . July 09, 2010
I tried my best to appreciate Jane Austen.  I was an English major in college, after all; it is practically a requirement for graduation.  I took a seminar, I read the cannon cover to cover, the only book I liked was Mansfield Park because of the underlying allusions to female slavery. My modern  ideals placed Elizabeth Bennet so far removed from myself that I could not fall in love with what has been called one of the best romance novels of all time.  It was just not happening, …
review by . July 12, 2010
     I had never read Jane Austin.  My husband made me read Bronte (and how does a crazy guy in a moor rate a love story anyway/), but never the Lady Jane.  When I read the title Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I realized it was time to break down and see what the fuss was about.      It was suggested to me that I read both Pride and Prejudice and the Zombie version at the same time.  I decided to go with the original first and work my way over …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
This is the closest I've came to reading Jane Austin so can't comment on the original story. However it does seem to lend itself to the inclusion of the unmentionable zombies very well. It's almost as if Jane Austin perceived that one day her book would be adapted and left the story open to zombies.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
What ajoke. Simpley disgusting. Why would someone destroy a perfectly written classic?
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Not nearly as fun or well-written as I'd hoped. I love both the original book AND zombie pop culture, but this just doesn't do justice to either.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
If you haven't read the original, much of the humor of this book will not be the same! I'm not a zombie lover but I found this book quite entertaining.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
ok, not great - better than the old plain version!
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
Most people say 'take it lightly' or 'this is just for laughs' and tell you to read this book. The honest truth is though, it's shallow. The only depth or creativity in the book comes from rewriting Jane Austin. It's a pathetic attempt at comedy from one who is incapable of actually writing a whole novel.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
I love Jane Austen. And I thought this would be a fun read. But I just couldn't get into it. I'd recently reread Pride & Prejudice, and it just felt like I was reading it again, with zombie bits thrown in random places. Which is exactly what it was. It was a cute idea, but it didn't keep my attention for the length of the whole book, so I just gave up.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Fun read
About the reviewer
Jen ()
Ranked #1028
   "Everyone is born. That's how you get here, and it's also something that you have to keep on repeating over and over again to keep your life vital — to be like a phoenix, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
hopelesspierrot
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

Author: Jane Austen, Seth Grahame-Smith

Lists with this book
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists