|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Princess Diaries (book) » User review

A must read for every teen girl

  • Aug 11, 2010
Rating:
+4

Mia  Thermopolis is your average, ninth grade girl. That is, until she finds out she is a princess! In this book, Meg takes you through the life of Mia, through her eyes. I really like how Meg makes Mia an everygirl. Every girl, at one time or another, has found herself in what Mia has gone through- from falling in love with the most popular boy, having a boy friend who you just don't notice, and a best girlfriend who you want to tell everything to and do everything with. This book has everything you had in high school: cattiness, cliques, stupid school subjects, and freakout sessions. Meg does a wonderful job of putting you back in that high school mentality (even if you don't want to fall back into it!) Please do not confuse the book with the movie because the book is so much better. The book allows more “real-ness” of the high school realm. Disney took and changed almost the entire story- even parts of the plot—so stick to the book if you really want a fun story to read. Meg has a page turner, and it almost feels a bit sneaky because you are looking right into Mia’s journal! So, if you want a rapid read with high energy, pick up this book and enjoy!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Princess Diaries (book) reviews
Quick Tip by . March 10, 2011
Meg Cabot is a splendid individual to follow as both an author and a human being. If you're ever enamored with her books, I suggest popping over to her website and reading her blog!
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
This is a silly, fun book I read and enjoyed back in high school.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Great movie for all the little girls and big girls of the world.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Funny and fast-paced
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
its a cute book but there are so many more amazing books out there
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
I loved these books. Truly engaging, even to an adult.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
The movie is actually better, shockingly.
review by . June 21, 2010
I started into this eagerly at first -- and continued to read it so for awhile -- because I thought "Oh, this will be cute and fun and lovable, like the movie!" Well...not so much. For instance, the grandmother in the book? A real piece of work. Nothing like the gracious, graceful, fun-loving but moral woman in the movie. The main character? Well...typical teen, I guess. Maybe I prefer things romanticized a bit.      I realize this now after subjecting myself to the …
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
At first, I was enamored when this. But you know what? It's really kinda trashy.
review by . August 23, 2005
Meg Cabot has got to be the best when it comes to writing for teen-agers, especially girls.    I enjoyed having our Ashley read this book to Grandma, and the sharing was half the fun. Of course, Ashley's a little princess,too--but with a tiara in one hand and a soccer ball in the other.    Thanks, Meg Cabor, for such a charming story, with some life's lessons woven intricately into the plot.    MORE!
About the reviewer
Colleen ()
Ranked #2537
http://swagbucks.com/refer/grover http://www.paperbackswap.com --tell them springhare sent you!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
springhare
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


Mia Thermopolis is your average urban ninth grader. Even though she lives in Greenwich Village with a single mom who is a semifamous painter, Mia still puts on her Doc Martens one at a time, and the most exciting things she ever dreams about are smacking lips with sexy senior Josh Richter, "six feet of unadulterated hotness," and passing Algebra I. Then Mia's dad comes to town, and drops a major bomb. Turns out he's not just a European politician as he's always lead her to believe, but actually the prince of a small country! And Mia, his only heir, is now considered the crown princess of Genovia! She doesn't even know how to begin to cope: "I am so NOT a princess.... You never saw anyone who looked less like a princess than I do. I mean, I have really bad hair... and... a really big mouth and no breasts and feet that look like skis." And if this news wasn't bad enough, Mia's mom has started dating her algebra teacher, the paparazzi is showing up at school, and she's in a huge fight with her best friend, Lilly. How much more can this reluctant Cinderella handle?

Offbeat Mia will automatically win the heart of every teenage girl who's ever just wanted to fit in with as little fuss as possible. Debut author Meg Cabot's writing is silly and entertaining, with tons of pop culture references that will make teens feel right at home within her pages. This is a wonderfully wacky read. (Ages 12 and older) --Jennifer Hubert ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0380814021
ISBN-13: 978-0380814022
Author: Meg Cabot
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: HarperTeen
Polls with this book
207EA91D9D797247F2940C09794A57F

Books Turned Movies

by

Gossip Girl series,

Young adult book series

by

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Top Young Heroine Novels

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists