|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Ranking #1: 50 Essential SEO Tips To Boost Your Search Engine Rankings » User review

Search engine optimization in the social media era

  • Jul 5, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+1
Disclosure: I wrote this book, so I rated a neutral 1 because I really wanted to hear "real reviews". :-)

In the last couple of years, most web projects I've been working on have invariably had substantial questions about SEO. The pattern is increasingly that companies make a significant investment in a new web site and are then disappointed in the lack of traffic, so there's an attempt to retrofit some element of search engine optimization into the site. This is really the wrong way to do it, but happens over and over again.

When I wrote this book, the goal was to split the search engine optimization process in five distinct areas and treat the whole process as more of a project management job, rather than just a series of tricks to fool search engines. I also wanted to incorporate the latest changes with the emphasis on social and local changes in the search engines, which can have a much greater impact on the traffic to a site than simply managing the technicalities and mechanics of the pages (e.g. adding titles and meta descriptions).

The challenge of putting this book together was really that SEO is an amorphous business based upon reverse-engineering, experimentation and rumor, so pulling together 50 things that we could all agree upon was probably not a viable goal. Instead, I've based the tips on many of the costly mistakes I've seen in web projects, some of tried-and-tested ideas that definitely work but generally don't get implemented, and the ongoing positioning that a site has in the general community. Some of it strays into social media optimization and common sense, but for the most part I've tried to stay on track with tips that could be used effectively by all types of site and all sizes of business.

Anyway, I had fun writing this over the last six months and I'll be interested to hear the feedback from readers. It's now available on Amazon.com. And there's also a companion website at http://ranking-number1.com.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
November 20, 2010
I was just asking Debbie for a discount, haha... Oh well, I wonder if I can find it in a local bookstore. Having it mailed over would be a hassle. Otherwise, I'd have to get my friend to bring it back when she returns in January! I could do with such a book since I'm planning on building a corporate website next year! Hey, do you design website by any chance? :-)
 
November 17, 2010
You wrote this book? awesome! afraid I can't review it since you're my bud--LOL!
November 17, 2010
No problem! Though you wouldn't believe how hard it is to get reviews. My last book has sold about 1,000 copies over 18 months, and I only got 6 Amazon reviews (and 1 from a competing author who bad-mouthed me, a practice I'm becoming accustomed with).
November 20, 2010
1000 copies, that's not bad eh?! Most people don't like to write reviews on tech books, I guess. Unless they are working in the same field.
 
November 15, 2010
I just read @devora's review! As a blogger with a [teeny tiny] following I think this is a great book for me to get my hands on, looks like it is a lot more approachable than the more in-depth SEO books with language I will not understand. :)
November 17, 2010
Great! Let me know how what you think. The idea was to keep it simple enough that non-techies could get some benefit too.
 
July 20, 2010
Congrats on the new book, James! When does the Kindle edition come out? I'd love to hear your take on Lunch.com SEO sometime. :-)
July 22, 2010
Thanks! The Kindle edition is available at http://www.amazon.com/Ranking-Number-One-Ess...s&qid=1279807718&sr=8-2. Lunch has the benefit of having large amounts of fresh content generated continuously, so that's a major SEO benefit that the majority of sites don't have. Then there's another 49 tips to go. :-)
July 27, 2010
Wow -- Great promotion for your book AND a free tip! Downloading the Kindle version now!
July 27, 2010
I just picked up the Kindle version too. Looking forward to reading it. Hopefully, I will get the time to review it here as well! :-)
July 27, 2010
Great! If you have any questions, drop me an email. :-)
July 27, 2010
Thanks TeamAWAC - drop me an email if you have any questions!
July 27, 2010
FYI, Amazon just informed me they're changing their royalties from 35% to 70% for authors that drop their Kindle prices to under $10. I've updated the pricing so in the next 2-3 days you should see that on their site. So instead of making $5 for a $15 book, I now get $7 for a $10 book, which I think works for everyone. :-)
July 27, 2010
Well, you got $5 outta me. I already bought it, but the new lower price does sound like a great deal for everyone.
July 27, 2010
Damn, I was hoping to catch you in time!
July 27, 2010
Nice. Even better deal! I'll just read through the sample until I see the price drop on Amazon. Thanks for the heads up.
 
1
More Ranking #1: 50 Essential SEO T... reviews
review by . November 15, 2010
An Easy Read & Handy Guide for SEO-Newbs & -Savvy Folks Alike
As a fan of James Beswick's (@jbeswick) first book, Getting Productive With Google Apps, I asked him to keep me posted on his latest writing projects.  ...And keep me posted he did!  I expected James' second book to be more about Google apps and products, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that he got down and dirty with SEO instead.  He kindly sent me a copy when this was first published over the summer, so I thought I'd share my thoughts.      …
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #13
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Product Details
  • Paperback: 162 pages
  • Author: James Beswick
  • Publisher: 415 Systems, Inc. (June 26, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1452849900
  • ISBN-13: 978-1452849904
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 8.2 x 0.4 inches
  • Companion Website: http://ranking-number1.com
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1452849900
ISBN-13: 978-1452849904
Author: James Beswick
Publisher: 415 Systems, Inc.
Date Published: 06/26/10
Format: Paperback
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists