|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Raw Food/Real World: 100 Recipes to Get the Glow » User review

A great book if you are curious about raw foods

  • Mar 9, 2010
Rating:
+4
Yes this is a raw food cookbook, but it also details Sarma and Matt's story of how and why they decided to go raw. It is full of helpful tips on raw foods.

The recipes in here may seem daunting at first, but don't stress it. They are delicious but you don't have to cook like that every day when eating raw foods. Sometimes the easiest meals are the ones you will enjoy the most.

The book starts with an Introduction that breaks down raw foodism.

  • Get the Glow - a definition of the raw foods movement 
  • Our Story - Some history on Sarma and Matt
  • Why we gave up Cooked Food and Meat - Their reasons behind their switch to raw foods
  • Stocking up/Ingredients - this section is very helpful with familiarizing you with common ingredients you might need for a raw foods diet. It's also helpful if you are just looking to get started and want to replace some of the more processed and cooked foods with more healthier options.
  • Equipment/Techniques - This section is helpful in explaining why you might need a high speed blender vs. one you may already own. It helps you to understand some of the most common tools used in raw foods preparation, while also showing you how simple some of them can be.

After the Introduction (which is almost 50 pages), the book is broken down into chapters of recipes.

  1. Nut Milks and Shakes
  2. Salads
  3. Soups and Starters
  4. Main Dishes
  5. Desserts and Sweets
  6. Breakfast and Brunch
  7. Cheeses, Spiced Nuts, Crackers and Condiments
  8. Juices
  9. Cocktails

My favorite recipe is the lasagna, which is amazing! It will truly change how you think about raw food!

After the recipes there is an Afterword called The Real World
  • Raw Foods and the Rest of the World
  • Detox and Our Adventures in Cleansing
  • It's Not Just the Food You Eat

I think that the book is very well rounded. Keep in mind that this book is written by the chef's and owners of Pure Food and Wine, and most of the recipes are from the restaurant as well. So don't be intimidated by them. I regard these recipes as "Show Stoppers", things I like to make for friends who couldn't imagine enjoys a raw meal.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
July 10, 2011
I juice raw foods every week in the Vitamix 5000 which is a great machine.
 
October 17, 2010
Interesting stuff but I'd have loved to have read more about your experience at trying some of these recipes.
 
March 12, 2010
This sounds like a good beginners-guide to raw eating..something I definitely need! Have you ever been to Angelica Kitchen in NYC? If I remember correctly, their main appeal is vegan food, but I think they have a lot of raw options as well. I know I definitely couldn't eat Raw everyday but it's great every now and again!
 
March 12, 2010
A raw lasagna? You've got me curious! After watching all those food documentaries, I've made an effort to incorporate more organic, and raw foods into my diet, so I'll definitely be checking this out. Thanks for sharing, Sarah!
 
1
More Raw Food/Real World: 100 Recip... reviews
review by . February 27, 2010
While there is a lot of information out there about raw foods, and a raw food diet, I find that Matthew and Sarma's book gives a great introduction to the world of raw foods and how you can get started living this way.      In addition to being a cookbook, the book also tells the story of how the couple (two professional chefs) decided to give up meat, dairy, and all cooked food; and go raw. It helps you to understand the benifits of a lifestyle like this, and how you can maintain …
About the reviewer
Sarah Cooley ()
Ranked #203
Member Since: Mar 31, 2009
Last Login: May 24, 2010 05:21 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sarahcooley
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Top New York chef and restaurateur Matthew Kenney and his partner, Sarma Melngailis, had been thinking of opening a Moroccan restaurant. But one night they were invited to a raw food restaurant -- and it changed their lives. They instead opened Pure Food and Wine, a restaurant devoted to creative, tasty raw food, and it has been drawing rave reviews. Dishes such as Zucchini and Green Zebra Tomato Lasagne, Golden Squash Pasta with Black Summer Truffles, and Dark Chocolate Ganache Tart with Vanilla Cream have given raw food a sexy new appeal.

The decision to go raw was shocking at first for these two ex-carnivorous chefs, but they soon found that preparing and eating raw food made them and their guests feel their physical best. Melngailis noticed a difference almost immediately -- "Light, clean, natural, and alive foods make you feel light, clean, and more alive. And sexy." This new way of life has changed their outlook on eating and cooking and connects them to the world around them. As Kenney says, "Raw foods and the lifestyle associated with it are so compelling and complex that we will be forever learning and growing. Already it seems that we have discovered some of the magic that life offers."

In this lushly photographed book, Kenney and Melngailis share some of that magic -- and show that preparing and eating raw does not mean bland, unsatisfying, or impossibly time-consuming meals. Using dehydrating, Vita-Mix blending, a nuanced understanding of ...
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0060793554
ISBN-13: 978-0060793555
Author: Matthew Kenney, Sarma Melngailis
Publisher: William Morrow Cookbooks
Date Published: July 5, 2005
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists